6 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Questions about preparing a gaming surface rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kot player
Canada
flag msg tools
I’m looking to prepare a board game / card game surface to put over a 6 ft. folding table but as I am new to all of this I have a few questions on how to do so.

1) It is to my understanding that 3mm neoprene doesn’t need any additional padding underneath so can it be simply placed over the table without having to stretch and attach it somehow to the table?

2) If the above is true then does that make neoprene the best budget option? It is to my understand that other material such as upholstery velvet, velveteen, bella velvet, car headliner, and speed cloth all need to be stretched and have additional padding. Although the padding can be extremely cheap (floor underlay) some of the other fabrics are already much more expensive than neoprene such as any upholstery fabric, bella velvet and you need to staple it to the table or a piece of plywood which would be another $50.

3) So far the only place that I know of to buy 3mm neoprene is Michaels but it is double lined (I think you’re supposed to use single lined?) http://www.michaels.com/3mm-black-nylon-double-lined-neopren..., are there any other stores that sell neoprene? I’m located in Toronto, Canada.

4) I also found an online link but i am not sure how to tell what kind of neoprene it is. http://fabricville.com/en/neoprene-fabric-sheets-1009-purple...

I hope you guys can provide me with the answers. If you have any better suggestions on how to prepare the game surface please let me know.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel Strickling
United States
Irving
TX
flag msg tools
mbmb