$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.05

7,746 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Blood Bound» Forums » Rules

Subject: Guardian protects himself rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Lee
United States
FLORHAM PARK
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Guardian's ability reads:
Quote:
The Guardian gives one "Shield" ability card to one player and takes the matching-colored "Sword" ability card for himself. The player with the "Shield" card is PROTECTED; players cannot attack him or use an ability to force him to suffer wounds. However, he may intervene and, by choosing to intervene, suffer the wound as he normally would (see "intervening" on page 4).


As with the current rule written, it seems to be possible for the Guardian to protect himself, and therefore remains invulnerable for the rest of the game. This causes the game to be unwinnable for the other team in some rare circumstances, and even a stalemate in even rarer circumstances.

I know this doesn't come up often, and thematically it doesn't make sense to protect yourself, but there is always that one guy in the group who says "That's not how the rules are written."

So, just to shut that guy up, can I get an official ruling please ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H C
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Even if it doesnt say it, it is implicit that you cannot use the shield on yourself. What does the summary card say for guardian?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Lee
United States
FLORHAM PARK
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The summary card is even worse.
It uses the phrase "any player" even for characters whose abilities specifically target other players in the rules.
For Guardian it reads:
Quote:
Give a "Shield" to any player, and take the matching color "Sword."


For Courtesan, the summary card reads
Quote:
Give a "Fan" to any player.

But in the rules, it says
Quote:
The Courtesan gives a "Fan" ability card to another player.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.