$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 130.99

7,702 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you brave a hazard before invasion? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harvey O'Brien
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
...easy ...easy ...eeesay...
mbmbmbmbmb
If a habitable planetary system has been colonised, is the hazard still active? Example Klingon fleets attack Fed colony for adjacent space lane, suffer casualties but clear space, move in to invade and roll for hazard, suffer casualties, make final attack greatly depleted. Correct?

Same query pertains to movement into a system you have settled that is hazardous. Sending ships for space defence runs the risk of them being destroyed before they can orbit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
that is correct, the hazard is in effect the whole game.
But as you raise your shields its effect will lessen or even drop completely
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hob69 wrote:

Same query pertains to movement into a system you have settled that is hazardous. Sending ships for space defence runs the risk of them being destroyed before they can orbit?


You could always build a Starbase there. Ships built in the system don't have to roll for the hazard, nor do they roll when they leave the system. Only arriving ships that stop there have to brave the hazard.

Just for clarity, we are all referring to systems that have a hazard printed on them. You might pull an exploration card that has a hazard on it which will disappear after the card conditions have been met. So there is a possible situation where someone might roll for a hazard when first encountering a system, but then won't have to roll for it again.

(Just trying to head off any potential confusion down the road.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.