13 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Please help finding a manufacturer for our game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pasi Kovanen
Finland
flag msg tools
Our company is based in Finland, Europe, and we are planning to publish a board game. At first we'd love to give it out to our employees and customers, and hopefully later also to a wider audience. Design of the game is progressing well with a free lance game designer, and now would be a good time to contact manufacturers. I have no prior experience with any company working on this field, so I welcome any help.

Some details for the game:

- Number of games manufactured: 500 pieces (first batch)
- Contents:
- nice box
- cardboard coins
- cards (100 - 150 pieces, all have custom design)
- 5 boards (out of which four are identical)
- 4 screens (one for each player)
- Dozens of chips / wooden blocks etc.

All items, maybe except for the wooden blocks, should have custom design by us.

We are in a tight schedule so if possible, we'd love to have games ready by Christmas.

I don't think we'll get everything perfect for the first time so I'd also appreciate possibility to first create a few prototypes.

If you were in my shoes, who would you contact? Thanks a lot for your help!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bojan Prakljacic
msg tools
China.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toy Vault Inc.
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
I think you are going to have a very hard time having a game in hand by Christmas. You'll need to find a local printer if you want that to happen. Any order to China wouldn't be delivered before Christmas most likely.

500 copies is a small amount, most Chinese factories have a minimum of 1000-2000, and really 3000 is where the price per unit becomes reasonable.

Is the graphic design work done? You'll need to do that before you can send the game to a factory.