$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 78.75

5,310 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33.5% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Order of the Gilded Compass» Forums » Rules

Subject: Various Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
-1. The choice of having "purple" and "a tiny but darker purple" (which was probably meant to be blue) dice color in some examples is... well, stupid. Should be green all the way, to avoid any possible printing color mismatches.

0. Can the player that is the last in turn end the round all of sudden by assigning all his dice? (providing he meets the requirements for one tile)

1. Second Opinion Mission Tile doesn't score any points by itself, as the only one. I understand that additional points come from the additional Specialist tile assigned?

2. A Secret Map Mission Tile - I understand that assigning the 2nd specialist is redundant (doesn't yield any points from the Mission Tile) and serves just as another slot for assignment, so that you can score the Specialist's points? The description doesn't say if assigned specialists score independently (such description is present for Dual Map)

3. Recruit Specialists - do they have to be assigned to the same tile, or do you count them together across all tiles? If a pair must be assigned to the same tile, then 1 point doesn't seem like a good value.

4. University - I was quite surprised to learn that the rules in the manual are different that what we were told during Essen. The way we were instructed to play was, that each person get's the Specialist tile that is directly below his place in the University. We thought that was slightly random but interesting nevertheless. But when looking into the rules, it reverts to the standard "first person choses first". This solution seems pretty bad, as the last person just needs to put one die with 1 pip to shift the order. Hm...

5. Auction House - why does it show 4,5,6... on the picture? It doesn't make any sense, there's no dice value higher than 6. The flipside, Treasue Hunters' guild, has more reasonable 1,2,3... Yet, it seems that the assignment rules for both these tiles are exactly the same.

6. The Treasure Hunters' Guild has a description that is clearly copied from Auction House, as references to it can be found. Does that mean that they work the same, or not? It seems that the only difference is that first gives you a static condition and then you try to fulfil it, while the second allows you to take one or more conditions during the game and much rather try to make them align with what you already have.

7. Can more than one player have their dice on the same tile in Hidden Temple? I assume not, but it is never mentioned. Just "that player cannot be bumped off"

8. Can the same player have more than one group assigned to Hidden Temple? (to a different tile).

9. A Timely Gift - Iluminati tile - what does it mean to take an additional turn after the round ends? Is this, in essence, a rescue button to protect from situation in #0? Can you take an additional turn, if you don't have any dice to roll?

10. The Will to Win - Iluminati tile - I have no idea what this description is trying to tell me. Does it mean that I can choose sides to place a die, or maybe if I'm placing my dice and it just so happens that my set would be a tie with someone else (a condition that normally is not possible), then I can trigger this tile and remove one dice from the opponent's tied set? Can I do it only when placing new group, or also when I'm adding to my existing group?

11. Sunken Galleon - "Players who already assigned dice to the SG may place more dice there on a later turn. The player must place a number of dice that brings the sum of all their dice to the exact number needed and the sum of all the dice must be greater than the previous total" - again, parse error. I think it meant to say, that your resulting set must consist of exactly 1 dice more than the previous leader's set and the sum total must also be greater than the sum of previous leader's sum. Correct?

12. Can the same player have more than one set of dice on Sunken Galleon?

13. Can the same player have more than one set of dice on Treasure Tower?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Eisenstein
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello!

Let's answer your questions (some of them):

-1. The choice of having "purple" and "a tiny but darker purple" (which was probably meant to be blue) dice color in some examples is... well, stupid. Should be green all the way, to avoid any possible printing color mismatches.

You are right - maybe the publisher can tell you something more.

0. Can the player that is the last in turn end the round all of sudden by assigning all his dice? (providing he meets the requirements for one tile)

Sure, if he rolls something that he is allowed to place onto a single building (for example a street 1,2,3,4,5,6)

1. Second Opinion Mission Tile doesn't score any points by itself, as the only one. I understand that additional points come from the additional Specialist tile assigned?

correct

3. Recruit Specialists - do they have to be assigned to the same tile, or do you count them together across all tiles? If a pair must be assigned to the same tile, then 1 point doesn't seem like a good value.

you count them together from all of your tiles

4. University - I was quite surprised to learn that the rules in the manual are different that what we were told during Essen. The way we were instructed to play was, that each person get's the Specialist tile that is directly below his place in the University. We thought that was slightly random but interesting nevertheless. But when looking into the rules, it reverts to the standard "first person choses first". This solution seems pretty bad, as the last person just needs to put one die with 1 pip to shift the order. Hm...

the rules are correct - you can choose. Sometimes you are last, sometimes not, but you need a 1 to do that!

5. Auction House - why does it show 4,5,6... on the picture? It doesn't make any sense, there's no dice value higher than 6. The flipside, Treasue Hunters' guild, has more reasonable 1,2,3... Yet, it seems that the assignment rules for both these tiles are exactly the same.

Maybe it is a picture from an earlier version?

6. The Treasure Hunters' Guild has a description that is clearly copied from Auction House, as references to it can be found. Does that mean that they work the same, or not? It seems that the only difference is that first gives you a static condition and then you try to fulfil it, while the second allows you to take one or more conditions during the game and much rather try to make them align with what you already have.

correct

7. Can more than one player have their dice on the same tile in Hidden Temple? I assume not, but it is never mentioned. Just "that player cannot be bumped off"

only one player can place his dice at one tile - if it's full, you must choose another tile

8. Can the same player have more than one group assigned to Hidden Temple? (to a different tile).

sure, but not in one turn

9. A Timely Gift - Iluminati tile - what does it mean to take an additional turn after the round ends? Is this, in essence, a rescue button to protect from situation in #0? Can you take an additional turn, if you don't have any dice to roll?

only if you have dice left after a round is finished - you roll them and put them onto one single building and that's it

10. The Will to Win - Iluminati tile - I have no idea what this description is trying to tell me. Does it mean that I can choose sides to place a die, or maybe if I'm placing my dice and it just so happens that my set would be a tie with someone else (a condition that normally is not possible), then I can trigger this tile and remove one dice from the opponent's tied set? Can I do it only when placing new group, or also when I'm adding to my existing group?

you create a tie, then put one of the dice of the other player (with which you created the tie) into the library. If this is not possible, because of this player then also would have a tie with an other player, then you cannot do this

11. Sunken Galleon - "Players who already assigned dice to the SG may place more dice there on a later turn. The player must place a number of dice that brings the sum of all their dice to the exact number needed and the sum of all the dice must be greater than the previous total" - again, parse error. I think it meant to say, that your resulting set must consist of exactly 1 dice more than the previous leader's set and the sum total must also be greater than the sum of previous leader's sum. Correct?

correct

12. Can the same player have more than one set of dice on Sunken Galleon?

no

13. Can the same player have more than one set of dice on Treasure Tower?

yes

Hope you found all your answers here...
Many greetings
Bernd
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your answers!

irongames wrote:

4. University - I was quite surprised to learn that the rules in the manual are different that what we were told during Essen. The way we were instructed to play was, that each person get's the Specialist tile that is directly below his place in the University. We thought that was slightly random but interesting nevertheless. But when looking into the rules, it reverts to the standard "first person choses first". This solution seems pretty bad, as the last person just needs to put one die with 1 pip to shift the order. Hm...

the rules are correct - you can choose. Sometimes you are last, sometimes not, but you need a 1 to do that!


Oh well. I wonder where that interpretation during the fair came from. It seemed pretty cool. There's enough tiles in the game where you choose first you're first. Yes, you only need 1 to do that, but considering that all the other tiles would require you to put definitely more than just one dice to be first, this is weird, with just one die at the end, and bam - order shifted.

Quote:

5. Auction House - why does it show 4,5,6... on the picture? It doesn't make any sense, there's no dice value higher than 6. The flipside, Treasue Hunters' guild, has more reasonable 1,2,3... Yet, it seems that the assignment rules for both these tiles are exactly the same.

Maybe it is a picture from an earlier version?


Of what?

Quote:

10. The Will to Win - Iluminati tile - I have no idea what this description is trying to tell me. Does it mean that I can choose sides to place a die, or maybe if I'm placing my dice and it just so happens that my set would be a tie with someone else (a condition that normally is not possible), then I can trigger this tile and remove one dice from the opponent's tied set? Can I do it only when placing new group, or also when I'm adding to my existing group?

you create a tie, then put one of the dice of the other player (with which you created the tie) into the library. If this is not possible, because of this player then also would have a tie with an other player, then you cannot do this


Define "create a tie". Is creating a tie the effect of this iluminati tile, or does this iluminati tile trigger AFTER you would create a tie with your standard roll?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Eisenstein
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:

5. Auction House - why does it show 4,5,6... on the picture? It doesn't make any sense, there's no dice value higher than 6. The flipside, Treasue Hunters' guild, has more reasonable 1,2,3... Yet, it seems that the assignment rules for both these tiles are exactly the same.

Maybe it is a picture from an earlier version?


Of what?


The picture in the rules is different from the final building - this shows 1,2,3 on both sides

Quote:

10. The Will to Win - Iluminati tile - I have no idea what this description is trying to tell me. Does it mean that I can choose sides to place a die, or maybe if I'm placing my dice and it just so happens that my set would be a tie with someone else (a condition that normally is not possible), then I can trigger this tile and remove one dice from the opponent's tied set? Can I do it only when placing new group, or also when I'm adding to my existing group?

you create a tie, then put one of the dice of the other player (with which you created the tie) into the library. If this is not possible, because of this player then also would have a tie with an other player, then you cannot do this


Define "create a tie". Is creating a tie the effect of this iluminati tile, or does this iluminati tile trigger AFTER you would create a tie with your standard roll?[/q]

Let's say there is a 555 from another player in the archives.
You roll your dice and put also a 555 into the archieve with using the will to win. After that immediately move one of his "5" to the library.

Greetings
Bernd
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
irongames wrote:
The picture in the rules is different from the final building - this shows 1,2,3 on both sides


Ah, indeed! Didn't notice that.

Quote:

Let's say there is a 555 from another player in the archives.
You roll your dice and put also a 555 into the archieve with using the will to win. After that immediately move one of his "5" to the library.


But that was what I was asking about. Do I roll whatever, use the tile, switch dice sides to such sides that would give me a tie, place them, then take one opponent's die back? Or do I proceed normally, and IF I've rolled sides that would give me a tie, THEN I can trigger the tile, put them on some building and remove one dice from the previously tied set?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Eisenstein
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
You never manipulate your dice - you roll them like always

Bernd
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznan
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That still doesn't provide a definite answer :). Let me use the binary mode:

A) Do I roll whatever, use the tile, switch dice sides to such sides that would give me a tie, place them, then take one opponent's die back?

B) Do I proceed normally - just roll and IF I've rolled sides that would give me a tie, THEN I can trigger the tile, put them on some building and remove one dice from the previously tied set?

A or B?

Also another question: do the tiles obtained from Auction House are kept faceup or facedown? I guess it doesn't matter after all, since even if my opponents see my tiles and can deduce what I'm after, they still cannot make it any harder for me (everyone draws and discards separately anyway).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Eisenstein
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

You never modify any of your rolled dice, so it's B!

About your other question: yes, the tiles are hidden.

Greetings
Bernd
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.