11 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Computer Based Board Gaming

Subject: Worth it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
William Burke
msg tools
designer
I made a board game but I am having trouble getting it off the ground so to speak. I am an ok computer programmer. What are peoples thoughts on playing a board game on Javascript for free online. Would being able to try it first against a computer possibly increase interest and create sales? Or do the people of BGG think this would be foolishness. I have it like half programmed already...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Bernard Wingrave'
United States
Wyoming
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think having a playable computer version could help with playtesting. So from that point of view alone I think it's worth it to finish programming it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've bought a few games after trying them online first. I think any publicity is better than no publicity. If the game started selling well, you could always change your mind. Don't get caught up in worrying about losing potential sales of a physical game when you don't have a single sale in the first place.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Burke
msg tools
designer
I have actually sold one game, lol. But yeah publicity is good.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Urich
United States
Stuart
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd imagine running a Kickstarter with a working electronic version of the game would be a great thing to boost interest if the game is fun.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pelle Nilsson
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb