$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 60.09

4,315 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
27.2% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question for Craig - French Colonies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brett Johnson
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mb
Craig -

2.31 Rules state that the French Colonies turn into Armed Neutrals unless their capitols are controlled by *another* power.

Why? (semi-rhetorical)

I get why an empty or French Block in Algiers wouldn't stop them from declaring "Independence"...

But why wouldn't a British unit sitting in their capitol effectively quell any revolts before they start?

As the rule is currently written, an Empty Axis Algiers will not turn into an Armed Neutral, but a Algiers with a British Block would turn into an Armed Neutral.

Just something to consider...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Brett,

Let me take a stab at the answer.

France, Great Britain, and the USA are all "powers" that belong to the same Faction, the West. So, yes. A British ground unit in Algiers prevents the associated areas from becoming independent if France falls.

Dieter
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Brett,

The rule states "another Power", not "another Faction."

Britain is "another Power" (ie, not France), even though it is in the same Faction as France.

British occupation of Algiers prevents Algeria becoming an Armed Neutral upon French Defeat.

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eccentric Positionality
Germany
Bonn
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Fight Win Prevail - but enjoy the game whatever happens :D
mbmbmbmbmb
Addtional question (sorry for me being so slow
if during a later turn, that British Army (from your example) leaves Algier and so Algier becomes unoccupied, will Algier then turn to Armed Neutral or will it remain as a colony in the Western Faction?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug DeMoss
United States
Stillwater
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Capitals have persistent control, so the West should put a control marker in Algiers once they control it after France has fallen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Johnson
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mb
cbesinque wrote:
Brett,

The rule states "another Power", not "another Faction."

Britain is "another Power" (ie, not France), even though it is in the same Faction as France.

British occupation of Algiers prevents Algeria becoming an Armed Neutral upon French Defeat.

Craig


Thanks Craig!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.