$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 104.62

6,554 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Michal Kostan
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I'd like to check if I understand this correctly:

A German recon infantry platoon begins the German action phase on its deployed side. It has an attached transport with 22 MPs on the reverse side of the counter. The recon platoon flips to its loaded side for 2 MPs, then moves using 18 MPs and spends the last 2 MPs to unload/deploy again.

My question is, can the (now unloaded) recon platoon move one more hex (as per 4.5.3 of the rulebook)? Or does it have to stop because the unit has already expended all its MPs?

Thanks for your help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
It can still move. Since the transport's MPs and the transported unit's MPs (as well as the Movement Allowances of both) are different and independent, this rule helps sort out otherwise messy situations.

If the transported unit moves more than one hex (or plans to move more than one hex after being transported), then you won't be able to do so and transport the unit all in the same game turn.

But the rule allows units to do exactly what you asked about: Begin deployed, become loaded, move (up to the maximum allowable MPs of their transports, minus the four MPs it costs the transport to load before moving and unload after moving), deploy two hexes away from the enemy, and then move one hex to contact with the enemy (placing it adjacent).

The one hex move after transporting and deploying isn't really tracked; it doesn't count as MPs expended by the transports. It's like a "bonus." It allows mechanized infantry to behave realistically over the course of a game turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Felsher
United States
Rancho Palos Verdes
CA
flag msg tools
mb
Hi,

Yes. Straight from 4.5.3:

A transported infantry unit may move (apart from being
transported) a maximum of one hex on the turn it is transported;
other transported unit types may not move before or after transport.
This one-hex move can be performed either before or after
it is transported, but never both. A transported infantry unit may
spend MPs to load or unload and still qualify for the minimum
one-hex movement rule (4.1.1), including for the purpose of
conducting an Assault.

You can move 1 hex, because 4.1.1 gives you a minimum movement of 1 hex and infantry can even assault, as long as you didn't move 1 hex before loading.

It's a great way to get past friction fire in the fields as long as your transport doesn't get shot up by a tank or big gun!

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Felsher
United States
Rancho Palos Verdes
CA
flag msg tools
mb
Whoops. Got distracted in the middle of my post and didn't see you already answered Mark. You're so quick! Much appreciated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.