$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.78

7,483 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacks: Optional or Mandatory? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Ferrell
msg tools
A situation developed where it benefitted a player with a Cyclotron card to rotate, but not attack. Is that possible? We assumed, since it was supposed to be programmatic, that if a card said to zap something, the zap happened, whether you desired it or not. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
elkaintmoose wrote:
A situation developed where it benefitted a player with a Cyclotron card to rotate, but not attack. Is that possible? We assumed, since it was supposed to be programmatic, that if a card said to zap something, the zap happened, whether you desired it or not. Correct?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hunt
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I've got a related question that I couldn't find answered anywhere else.

So, I understand that for cards such as the Cyclotron which target all indicated spaces, you must damage all minions on these spaces.

With cards such as Hexomatic Aimbot and Scythe where the effect is to deal damage to a limited number of targets of your choice, are you allowed to target empty spaces? Or must you target minions if possible?

This came up in a situation where it would have been beneficial to keep an adjacent minion (and the only possible target) alive during a scythe move in order to use it as the start of a chain lightning.



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederick Ernst
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
You target minions/boss (or mechs, potentially), not spaces, so you cannot decide to target an empty space if there is a target available.

And if your targeting computer is busted and the only target you have is a mech, you MUST attack it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hunt
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Excellent, thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Ferrell
msg tools
Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.