$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 81.37

5,442 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.3% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Istanbul: Letters & Seals» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on letter delivery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Williams
Australia
Marrickville (Sydney)
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The place where the rules describe when a letter is considered delivered ("Your Turn", step 2.) state:

Quote:
When a token (Merchant, Family Member, or Companion) is at a Place specified by one or more of your Letters, you must turn these Letters to the reverse side - they are considered "delivered". It does not matter whether or not the token was moved, and whether you turn the Letter before or after it moves.


In our first two games, we assumed a letter was delivered when any player's token was on the corresponding numbered place, because the rule simply says "When a token... is at Place", etc.

In playing it this way, it seems a little too powerful - quite easy to get six seals, followed by a ruby at the Secret Society. Does delivery only take place when your token is at a place? If so, this is an area I think the rules could be clearer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Cranston
Netherlands
Rotterdam
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is only your tokens, ofcourse.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Susan
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
www.Meetup.com/ArizonaGames
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you interpret that to mean if your family member and/or companion goes there as well? ie it doesn't have to be your merchant correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A S
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb


isellsunshine wrote:
Do you interpret that to mean if your family member and/or companion goes there as well? ie it doesn't have to be your merchant correct?


Yes, when any one of your three tokens including family member, companion, or Merchant is ever at a place (not passing through though), the letter is considered "delivered".

jlwill wrote:
The place where the rules describe when a letter is considered delivered ("Your Turn", step 2.) state:

Quote:
When a token (Merchant, Family Member, or Companion) is at a Place specified by one or more of your Letters, you must turn these Letters to the reverse side - they are considered "delivered". It does not matter whether or not the token was moved, and whether you turn the Letter before or after it moves.


In our first two games, we assumed a letter was delivered when any player's token was on the corresponding numbered place, because the rule simply says "When a token... is at Place", etc.

In playing it this way, it seems a little too powerful - quite easy to get six seals, followed by a ruby at the Secret Society. Does delivery only take place when your token is at a place? If so, this is an area I think the rules could be clearer.


It is not too powerful for the simple reason that the places your letters need to go are not always places that are actually beneficial to you at that moment.

For instance you could have already acquired all of the Mosque tiles then draw the #14 or #15 letters. Making a special trip back to those places is otherwise a waste of turn (except to redeem the letters).

With more plays you'll see the beauty of the balance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Williams
Australia
Marrickville (Sydney)
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MoviinTarget wrote:

It is not too powerful for the simple reason that the places your letters need to go are not always places that are actually beneficial to you at that moment.


Perhaps I should have been clearer. I meant letters seem too powerful when they can be 'delivered' by any player's token, which is what the wording of the rules suggests. It's much more reasonable when they can only be delivered by your own tokens.

The latter seems to be the consensus, so thanks for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Bronswijk
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems to be a translation issue. The original German rules clearly say that it must be one of your own token. Please play it that way!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Williams
Australia
Marrickville (Sydney)
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thygra wrote:
It seems to be a translation issue. The original German rules clearly say that it must be one of your own token. Please play it that way!


That's pretty clear. Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.