$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.62

6,645 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Losing Production rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Easy Question: can you play a card which causes you to lose production that you don't have (Ex. I have 1 Energy Production and the card causes me to lose 2 Energy Production). Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Gazdecki
United States
Lindsey
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruiser419 wrote:
No.

Haha, well, an easy question deserves an easy answer
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Lord_Aethan wrote:
Bruiser419 wrote:
No.

Haha, well, an easy question deserves an easy answer


You can go negative on Mc but nothing else.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
To be specific, this is covered in this sentence on page 9 of the rules:

Quote:
To play card B, the oxygen level needs to be 9% or lower, and you also need to have energy production since the card requires you to decrease your energy production.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
It also seems like this question could be completely avoided with a minor redesign of the cards in future editions, such as this before and after example:



Since the production capacity is a prerequisite to playing the card, it would make sense if the area of the card that shows the prerequisites included the symbol for production capacity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Chaney

California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Although adding the required current production (which must be reduced) to the card explicitly like that is redundant (given that the rules state that the reduction is compulsory and must be done) it does simplify things for the player. This seems good.

It could be about the same with red-bordered production reduction. (Recall: red border = anybody's ... no red border = active player.) The icon at the top would also have the red border, and the text would specify that "someone" must have production rather than "you."

Nice suggestion!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.