$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 56.4

4,106 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.9% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Jurisdiction spell rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dizdi
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Jurisdiction reads :Play any non-ultimate spell from your codex. (You still pay its cost to play it, then discard it.)

Is it possible to play a Truth magic spell if I don't have the Truth hero in play?

Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Yes, that sort of thing is exactly what Jurisdiction is for.

For example, if you are playing mono-blue (Law, Peace, Truth) and you have Bigby in play (as your only hero) and pay the 2 gold to cast Jurisdiction, you can then select any of the non-ultimate Truth Spells { Free Speech, Hallucination, Dreamscape } any of the non-ultimate Peace Spells { Boot Camp, Elite Training, General's Hammer } or any of the non-ultimate Law Spells { Community Service, Injunction or Jurisdiction } which remain in your Codex and then pay their gold costs to cast them.

Now you probably don't want to choose another Jurisdiction, since that just costs you 2 gold to put another copy of Jurisdiction into your discard and you probably don't want to choose Dreamscape since spells with Channeling are immediately discarded when the appropriate hero is not in play -- but both are rules-legal choices.

9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hauge
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In that way, it's like a spell version of Sanatorium.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.