$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.71

4,625 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.1% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

W1815» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reille destroyed, which occupies Hougoumont ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruno Sanouiller
France
flag msg tools
When Reille'corps is destroyed with Hougoumont to the Frenchs,
Allied penetrate again in Hougoumont ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ottevaere Wouter
Belgium
Vosselaar
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In my humble opinion: no - Hougoumont stays French.

The 'destruction' of the forces - or: putting the blue and red 'sticks' on the casualty track - does not mean the complete destruction of a real Corps. It only means the destruction of the 'active' or 'offensive' roll of that Corps.
For exemple: taking away the four blue sticks of the Reille Corps does not mean that all of the infantry soldiers of that Corps are eliminated (killed or wounded). It does mean that the regiments took such heavy losses (killed or wounded), that the moral of the regiments is broken, so the infantry soldiers are still on the field - but with no strenght or will to fight.
In that way: the occupation of the Hougoumont farm is not by one whole Corps. As you can see on the card itself: there is the 'flavour' information in the blue banner, which states that the 2nd Corps commanded by Reille contains more than 18.000 foot soldiers, almost 2.000 mounted troops and 30 guns. But such a mass of people could not fit in Hougoumont farm...

So the occupation of Hougoumont is done by a small detachment of the Reille Corps and therefor the loss of the four pieces (blue sticks) does not mean the loss of (that detachment in) Hougoumont.

I think. Not?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Vasey
Scotland
Mortlake, London
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Chapsan wrote:
When Reille'corps is destroyed with Hougoumont to the Frenchs,
Allied penetrate again in Hougoumont ?


Not unless the rules say so.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Sanouiller
France
flag msg tools
Ok thanks for your reply.
I understand your arguments but this will have no effect on the end
of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.