$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 88.92

5,815 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
36.6% of Goal | 26 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Nautilion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Expansion 4: Darkhouse card 12 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lines J. Hutter
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The card says:
Discard 2 tokens from the reserve. Then, take 1 token from the discard and playce it on your board.

If I don't have enough tokens in the reserve to discard, do I still get to do the second part?

Also is "your board" only the Nautilion board, or can this be the Mage's Cabin or the Phantom board?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wilmer
United Kingdom
Brandon
Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Lines,

We had the same question playing two players with one token left in the reserve. We played lose the last token and take a token from the discard . It seemed punishment enough not having any reserve token. We decided to do the same with no reseve tokens if that occurred.

Regarding where to place the regained token we interpreted "your board" as the nautilion and the rules clarfies on page 21 that this includes the mages cabin if using that expansion.

I can't think of any reason to put the reclaimed token on the phantom board. This wouldnt count as your board afaik.

The general theme of the blue cards seems to be more favorable to the player than the red Darkhouse cards. We took that into consideration when deciding wheter to activate the effect with less than two tokens in the reserve.

Would welcome the official ruling!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lines J. Hutter
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh boy... totally missen the Expansion explanation on page 21. thanks for pointing this out.
And I agree with your interpretation here.
After all, the blue card are supposed to be the "good cards".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shadi Torbey
Belgium
Bruxelles
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
The effect is not compulsory.

The card actually should state: "This turn, you may (once) discard two tokens from the reserve in order to take <...>"
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lines J. Hutter
Germany
Munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, okay, so if I don't have (enough) tokens to discard I cannot take one from the discard, right?

Shadi, thanks for your answer and for making wonderful games!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shadi Torbey
Belgium
Bruxelles
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Lines42 wrote:
Ah, okay, so if I don't have (enough) tokens to discard I cannot take one from the discard, right?


Yes, you need to have at least two tokens in your reserve in order to do that.

Lines42 wrote:
Shadi, thanks for your answer and for making wonderful games!


Thank you for playing them!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wilmer
United Kingdom
Brandon
Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
goblintrenches wrote:


Yes, you need to have at least two tokens in your reserve in order to do that.


Curses!

Lines42 wrote:
Shadi, thanks for your answer and for making wonderful games!


Seconded thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.