$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 128.17

7,584 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving while engaged with enemy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonatan Rueløkke
msg tools
So i know that if you do a move action while engaged with an enemy that enemy will do an opportunity attack. But will it also follow you to the new location?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Bennett
msg tools
Yes.

From the Rules Reference, under Enemy Engagement:

Each enemy in an investigator’s threat area is considered to be at the same location as that investigator, and should the investigator move, the enemy remains engaged and moves to the new location simultaneously with the investigator.

An exception is an enemy with the Massive keyword, which does not follow (See Massive in the Rules Reference).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Mission
Portugal
flag msg tools
Where's the attack? Before we move, or in the new location?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Bennett
msg tools
From the Rules Reference, under Attack of Opportunity:

An attack of opportunity is made immediately after all costs of initiating the action that provoked the attack have been paid, but before the application of that action’s effect upon the game state.

I think this means that the attack will happen at the original location, before the move actually happens.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
An engaged enemy is in your threat area, no longer in the map location. If you move, it's still in your threat area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taylor S
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
dboeren wrote:
An engaged enemy is in your threat area, no longer in the map location. If you move, it's still in your threat area.


That is not accurate, actually. It is considered to be at the same location as the investigator it is engaged with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
DrFunkenstein wrote:
dboeren wrote:
An engaged enemy is in your threat area, no longer in the map location. If you move, it's still in your threat area.


That is not accurate, actually. It is considered to be at the same location as the investigator it is engaged with.


"Enemy Engagement
While an enemy card is in play, it is either engaged with an investigator (and placed in that investigator’s threat area), or it is unengaged and at a location (and placed at that location). Each enemy in an investigator’s threat area is considered to be at the same location as that investigator, and should the investigator move, the enemy remains engaged and moves to the new location simultaneously with the investigator."
Rules Reference, page 10.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We're all more or less on the same page here. The physical card cannot be in two places at once - it is in your threat area.

When you move, it moves with you, because it's "considered to be" at the same location you are. i.e. - the enemy's location is pinned to you, not to the map.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.