$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 67.3

4,711 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.7% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Carl Schnurr
United States
Oak Park
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book simply states that you roll and move that many spaces, but says nothing if it's legal to change directions or revisit a space you've already been on that turn. A few questions:
- Can a player go back and forth in order to burn movement points? Say they really want to go one space but roll a five. Can they go back and forth multiple times then end up one space from their original space? Or can a player who rolls an even number go back and forth and end up in their original space and thereby avoid the lingering roll? For this to be OK you'd have to say it's OK to both change direction AND revisit a space.
- Similarly, while in town it seems you can pretty much select the space you want as long as you roll higher than a two for the reasons listed above. Even without revisiting a space, you can often get to exactly where you want by taking a circuitous route. Is this OK?

Thanks for your help,
-Carl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P.J. H.
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can backtrack and you can even move back to the space you started the turn on. You can follow any path of contiguous spaces you wish. However, this does not prevent lingering.

To quote from page 12 of the rules "When a Hero ends their Move in the same space that they started their turn in, this is called Lingering. " Whether you move and come back or choose not to move, it is still lingering.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christophe Jannin
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been playing so that you can stop in space before the maximum allowed by the roll, but that you cannot backtrack, doing that would be cheating the lingering rule, no ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Smith
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whether its legal to go back and forth or take a weird route doesn't matter. You're allowed to stop wherever you want, so if you roll a five and only wanted to move three spaces, you only move three spaces. Sure, you could move four spaces and then come back, but... what's the point?

Backtracking can't be considered 'cheating the lingering rule' because the lingering rule specifically includes backtracking in it. Backtracking to the space you started in is still lingering. And still a waste of time when the rules allow you to simply choose not to move in the first place.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
mbmbmbmbmb
The advice on this thread is sound. You don't have to move the full amount of the movement die, and moving in and out of a space doesn't thwart the lingering rule.

Another thing to consider about movement is minions (and the subsequent fight) can halt your movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ruescher
United States
West Milford
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmb
And still a waste of time when the rules allow you to simply choose not to move in the first place.

Unless you are rolling to try to get an Event card, then back tracking comes into play if you roll higher than a one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thebobymon wrote:
And still a waste of time when the rules allow you to simply choose not to move in the first place.

Unless you are rolling to try to get an Event card, then back tracking comes into play if you roll higher than a one.

Backtracking never comes into play. A player can move up to and including their roll so there is never a point in backtracking. And when you Linger you must roll your movement die anyway to see if you roll a 1 for an Event card. Then do a Lingering roll to see if you are attacked.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Schnurr
United States
Oak Park
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, I feel stupid now. I completely missed the statement "move up to the die roll". Thanks all.

Sometimes how you move exactly is important (when a crow is in a space, say). But I still completely missed the wording on movement. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.