$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 81.88

5,468 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34.5% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn» Forums » Rules

Subject: Vanish question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Zuber Jr
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My son and I were playing tonight, him with Victoria and me with Rin. I placed a Deep Freeze on one of his units and he wanted to use Vanish on that spell, which started a debate. Vanish says "You may play this spell when an opponent would use a spell ability, or dice power that targets you, your draw pile, your discard pile, or your Phoenix born."

He says he can use that spell to prevent my Deep Freeze; I say he cannot as Deep Freeze targets a unit. Who would be correct?

Finally, if I am correct, how does the first part of Vanish work when it says "targets you"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Grenier
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: no, he cannot use Vanish in this case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Zuber Jr
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks! I thought I had it correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As an aside, even if Vanish mentioned spells that target your units it still wouldn't stop Deep Freeze, because Deep Freeze is an Alteration, and Alterations don't target, they attach.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Zuber Jr
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
As an aside, even if Vanish mentioned spells that target your units it still wouldn't stop Deep Freeze, because Deep Freeze is an Alteration, and Alterations don't target, they attach.


Good to know. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angora Patio
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Here's a list of 'Vanish-able Cards' from the Plaid Hat Games web site:
[url]http://www.plaidhatgames.com/play/discussion/vanish-able-car...
[/url]

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.