$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 80.59

5,403 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
22 Posts

Reluctant Enemies» Forums » Rules

Subject: Direct Draw from Truck Transport rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Amenta

Idaho Falls
Idaho
msg tools
mb
Minor rules clarification question:

13.2f "A Transport Point can load in any hex. Transport Points can only unload in hexes which contain one or more friendly...

Later in same rule under B):

B) A Transport Point cannot be loaded via direct-draw or by thrown SPs. It can (effectively) be unloaded by direct-draw as its load is used by other units.


This appears to be an exception to the beginning of the rule where a TP can only unload in same hex? ie You can Direct Draw from a TP source if it is within Direct Draw range, and therefore, same unload hex not required?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ER Bickford
United States
Auburn
flag msg tools
mb
True.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Spiering
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DanteEdmundo wrote:
Minor rules clarification question:

13.2f "A Transport Point can load in any hex. Transport Points can only unload in hexes which contain one or more friendly...

Later in same rule under B):

B) A Transport Point cannot be loaded via direct-draw or by thrown SPs. It can (effectively) be unloaded by direct-draw as its load is used by other units.


This appears to be an exception to the beginning of the rule where a TP can only unload in same hex? ie You can Direct Draw from a TP source if it is within Direct Draw range, and therefore, same unload hex not required?



A unit can use the supply loaded onto a truck without that supply needing to be unloaded onto the map. That is how it is effectively unloaded without being in a hex with a friendly unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Amenta

Idaho Falls
Idaho
msg tools
mb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Spiering
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is an exception to that rule. That being Organic Trucks assigned to formations. The supply loaded on Organic Trucks can only be used by units from the same formation as that truck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Lawson
United States
Rutland
Vermont
flag msg tools
Boston Redsox
badge
New England Patriots!
mbmbmbmbmb
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Spiering
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


I just took a look. There is no rule stating this from what I can see.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandre Carmel-Veilleux
Canada
Charlottetown
Prince Edward Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexCV wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.


That makes sense. A truck with loaded supply can tool around the country side fueling individual units as it drives by them, but this is not the case for Combat Supply, I believe this is what Billyboy is referring to.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Lawson
United States
Rutland
Vermont
flag msg tools
Boston Redsox
badge
New England Patriots!
mbmbmbmbmb
Fly by Night wrote:
AlexCV wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.


That makes sense. A truck with loaded supply can tool around the country side fueling individual units as it drives by them, but this is not the case for Combat Supply, I believe this is what Billyboy is referring to.


Yes thats what I meant. Sorry for the confusion. modest
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
billyboy wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
AlexCV wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.


That makes sense. A truck with loaded supply can tool around the country side fueling individual units as it drives by them, but this is not the case for Combat Supply, I believe this is what Billyboy is referring to.


Yes thats what I meant. Sorry for the confusion. modest
phew. I about shit my pants and was gunna list all my games for sale after 100's of hours of wrong play... That type of mistake would be a soul crusher.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Spiering
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
AlexCV wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.


That makes sense. A truck with loaded supply can tool around the country side fueling individual units as it drives by them, but this is not the case for Combat Supply, I believe this is what Billyboy is referring to.


Yes thats what I meant. Sorry for the confusion. modest
phew. I about shit my pants and was gunna list all my games for sale after 100's of hours of wrong play... That type of mistake would be a soul crusher.


Haha I rushed to the rulebook thinking the same thing.
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damo
Australia
Hobart
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Look Up! Stay Alive!
badge
http://australianmuseum.net.au/Drop-Bear
mbmbmbmbmb
Threads like this keep us honest.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
spiering8 wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
AlexCV wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.


That makes sense. A truck with loaded supply can tool around the country side fueling individual units as it drives by them, but this is not the case for Combat Supply, I believe this is what Billyboy is referring to.


Yes thats what I meant. Sorry for the confusion. modest
phew. I about shit my pants and was gunna list all my games for sale after 100's of hours of wrong play... That type of mistake would be a soul crusher.


Haha I rushed to the rulebook thinking the same thing.

In any case I either fuel where the truck starts or ends. I was under the impression that fueling on the fly was gamey or some such
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mb
That's interesting. Why gamey? A truck can pause during its movement and allow fueling (and even construction) that way. It's legal; the truck just has to finish moving before another unit moves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Arcology wrote:
That's interesting. Why gamey? A truck can pause during its movement and allow fueling (and even construction) that way. It's legal; the truck just has to finish moving before another unit moves.


I agree. I thought it was the same as a truck RV'ing with a unit to conduct a REPLEN before moving on. Is that right?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Arcology wrote:
That's interesting. Why gamey? A truck can pause during its movement and allow fueling (and even construction) that way. It's legal; the truck just has to finish moving before another unit moves.


Yup, I always played it as a viable option, never thought it a gamey tactic.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Spiering
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hipshot wrote:
spiering8 wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
AlexCV wrote:
Fly by Night wrote:
hipshot wrote:
billyboy wrote:
It also cannot be used this way for combat supply.

Loaded SP cannot be drawn from a truck directly?
What about HQ draw and throw?



Says who?


Maybe a mis-reading of 13.2a which states that transport points can't pre-pay combat as they move like they can allow nearby units to be fuelled.


That makes sense. A truck with loaded supply can tool around the country side fueling individual units as it drives by them, but this is not the case for Combat Supply, I believe this is what Billyboy is referring to.


Yes thats what I meant. Sorry for the confusion. modest
phew. I about shit my pants and was gunna list all my games for sale after 100's of hours of wrong play... That type of mistake would be a soul crusher.


Haha I rushed to the rulebook thinking the same thing.

In any case I either fuel where the truck starts or ends. I was under the impression that fueling on the fly was gamey or some such


I do this as well but only because I don't think I knew you could stop and fuel in the first place.

Trying to learn naval rules to play Sicily and some other rules must have fallen out to make room
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Lawson
United States
Rutland
Vermont
flag msg tools
Boston Redsox
badge
New England Patriots!
mbmbmbmbmb
Arcology wrote:
That's interesting. Why gamey? A truck can pause during its movement and allow fueling (and even construction) that way. It's legal; the truck just has to finish moving before another unit moves.


This is allowed and is not considered gamey.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
billyboy wrote:
Arcology wrote:
That's interesting. Why gamey? A truck can pause during its movement and allow fueling (and even construction) that way. It's legal; the truck just has to finish moving before another unit moves.


This is allowed and is not considered gamey.

I'm probably recalling some CSW chat about combat supply versus fueling.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.