$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 130.94

7,700 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.5% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Band of Brothers: Ghost Panzer» Forums » Rules

Subject: Query on routing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Peel
United Kingdom
Northampton
flag msg tools
Hello,

I have a quick query on routing. The rules suggest a unit routs its movement points. Then gives conditions on where a unit can rout to. Does a unit have to rout its full movement value or can it stop as soon as it finds "safe" ground? I wasnt quite sure on this.

Also i must route towards my rout edge but if a rout took me back one movement point toward my edge and then the nearest cover was then a horizontal movement would this be ok?

Many thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
johnrp wrote:
Does a unit have to rout its full movement value or can it stop as soon as it finds "safe" ground?

It can stop as soon as it reaches cover; it only has to rout its full movement value if it can't reach cover.

johnrp wrote:
Also i must route towards my rout edge

No, you can route in any direction (within the limitations of not-adjacent-to-an-enemy-not-in-melee & not-closer-to-an-enemy-in-LOS) as long as you can reach cover. If you can't reach cover, then you must route toward your route edge.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Peel
United Kingdom
Northampton
flag msg tools
Brilliant. Thanks very much for clarifying
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kuhrusty wrote:
johnrp wrote:
Also i must route towards my rout edge

No, you can route in any direction (within the limitations of not-adjacent-to-an-enemy-not-in-melee & not-closer-to-an-enemy-in-LOS) as long as you can reach cover. If you can't reach cover, then you must route toward your route edge.
I thought you only needed to move to the rout edge if you can't trace a path to cover. As long as you can trace a path to cover you can move towards it, even if you can't get there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
kuhrusty wrote:
johnrp wrote:
Also i must route towards my rout edge

No, you can route in any direction (within the limitations of not-adjacent-to-an-enemy-not-in-melee & not-closer-to-an-enemy-in-LOS) as long as you can reach cover. If you can't reach cover, then you must route toward your route edge.
I thought you only needed to move to the rout edge if you can't trace a path to cover. As long as you can trace a path to cover you can move towards it, even if you can't get there.


Looks like you are right!
11.0 Rout Phase wrote:
A unit must move to a hex with terrain that will
give it a beneficial terrain modifier against direct fire from
enemy units if possible. If not possible, it must use all of its
Movement allowance moving toward such a hex.

...

If a Rout path to beneficial terrain does not exist then the unit
must attempt to trace a Rout path toward the edge of the board
defined as a Rout Edge in the scenario.

(But maybe kuhrusty meant "if you can't reach cover possibly after several turns of moving", not necessarily "if you can't reach cover this turn"?)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
russ wrote:
(But maybe kuhrusty meant "if you can't reach cover possibly after several turns of moving", not necessarily "if you can't reach cover this turn"?)

No, I was just wrong.

I would appreciate it if we could delete this thread and never speak of this again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
kuhrusty wrote:
russ wrote:
(But maybe kuhrusty meant "if you can't reach cover possibly after several turns of moving", not necessarily "if you can't reach cover this turn"?)

No, I was just wrong.

I would appreciate it if we could delete this thread and never speak of this again.

Or we could buy you a geekbadge and make it say I SUCK AT ROUTING!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.