$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 117.99

7,149 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Echo map - can your submarine go through Archer mines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Thijssen
Netherlands
Rotterdam
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state you are not allowed to pass through you own mines.
But we found nothing on the Archer mines. We ruled that any submarine can pass through Archer mines, of course taking a big risk.
Also if the fields with Archer mines are impassable there is not much of the map left and a good radio operator can find the other submarine very quickly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can indeed move through Archer mines.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Thijssen
Netherlands
Rotterdam
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! - TX for your swift response on this question!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Thomason
New Zealand
Nelson
None
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Really? And is there an official answer to this or is it another case of 'lost in translation'?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As Rob wrote : The rules state you are not allowed to pass through you own mines.

The Archer mines are not your own mines, therefore you are allowed to pass through them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Thomason
New Zealand
Nelson
None
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
FabienC wrote:
As Rob wrote : The rules state you are not allowed to pass through you own mines.

The Archer mines are not your own mines, therefore you are allowed to pass through them.


Well the English rules say a lot of things that apparently aren't true.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chet C.
China
Shanghai
flag msg tools
mb
How does the damage work? If it's similar to regular mines, you must be able to pass through them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Thomason
New Zealand
Nelson
None
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Cheddarific wrote:
How does the damage work? If it's similar to regular mines, you must be able to pass through them.


That statement is invalid because you can't pass through your own mines.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max F
United States
flag msg tools
Cheedderific is saying that damage from regular mines depends on if the hit is either direct or indirect.

If DAMAGE for Archer mines works the same way, then it implies that you must be able to occupy the same spot as the mines, else you could never be damaged by them directly.

Weaselboy wrote:
Cheddarific wrote:
How does the damage work? If it's similar to regular mines, you must be able to pass through them.


That statement is invalid because you can't pass through your own mines.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.