$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.35

7,465 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47% of Goal | left

Support:

Doug Poskitt
Wales
Cwmavon
West Glamorgan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, I read the rulebook a couple of times and generally feel quite happy about the information contained within it; at least it has given me a good base from which to understand and play through the game as a newbie.

Playing solo and it is the Technician'a turn. He plays his role character card. It says:

"Draw a card. (So I draw an extra card from the Technician's player deck). You get + equal to the current objective number."

Am I correct in treating the icon as the Technician gaining an extra Recruit Point (as we are on Objective #1) that can be used to add to the number of recruit cards in his hand for the purpose of buying a character from the HQ?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, it's the equivalent to the on the specialist (and other cards). So if the third objective is showing you would have 3 recruitment points which you can combine with any other cards you play that turn... and hopefully buy something epic!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Poskitt
Wales
Cwmavon
West Glamorgan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had three Specialists in hand, for a total of 3 Recruit points. I drew another specialist (curtesy of the role card) and added +1 via the "+ " ... to make a total of 5 Recruit points. I bought the Electric Prod card.

Discovering this as a newbie, it sure is eerie to see those face down cards making their way through the complex unhindered due to my three characters being top-heavy with specialists.

"They're coming!" gulp

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes it's the same feeling when you know the next enemy is heading into the combat zone and you don't have enough attack!

Just a quick follow up, after playing a game tonight. Youll notice the card you asked about does actually have the recruit star logo as his symbol, but I has an asterix in it - that generally means 'refer to card text'
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Poskitt
Wales
Cwmavon
West Glamorgan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I got through the first turn OK in the sense that each character recruited another character frokm the barracks. Given that the vast majority of my initial player decks were composed of specialists, I have mainly grunts in the rest of the character decks for the next round. So, with the extra characters I bought, hopefully I'm OK for attack the next turn or two.

This is the first deck-building game I have played; there does seem something sinister about those face down cards in the complex that I could not afford to scan.

Tricky situation though - if I scan them all I might not have enough Attack when they drop down into the combat zone.

Squeaky bum time shake
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torben
Germany
Gönnheim
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
This is a sloth. It accurately represents my style of life.
mbmbmbmbmb
dougposkitt wrote:
So, with the extra characters I bought, hopefully I'm OK for attack the next turn or two.

Make sure to drop the bought characters into your discard pile. So they usually don't show up the next turn unless you happen to right away deplete your draw deck and shuffle the new cards to the top.

dougposkitt wrote:
Tricky situation though - if I scan them all I might not have enough Attack when they drop down into the combat zone.

Any unused attack and recruitment points expire at the end of your turn. So scanning or not scanning (usually) does not have any effect on how much attack points you will have next turn when some cards may move into the combat zone.

Also, you can attack revealed cards in the complex, not just in the combat zone.

Just making sure you're playing correctly since this is your first deck-builder
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Poskitt
Wales
Cwmavon
West Glamorgan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand the mechanics of putting a newly purchased character into the current discard pile and that they won't be available until after the re-shuffle of the discard pile at the appropriate time (and then it will be dependent on the order the cards come out).

As with any new game, I play slowly and reference the rulebook/BGG over anything I am not sure of. However, knowing how to actually play the game is something that will only come with experience.

I expect I'll suffer a few chestbursters along the way. (At least I'll get to say "Game over man. Game over!")

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.