$18.00
The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 119.93

7,233 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.6% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pandemic: Reign of Cthulhu» Forums » General

Subject: Awakening Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Spangler
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about game play. In a recent game, a player moved her Hunter onto a gate space with a Shiggoth and 3 cultists thinking she could kill off of them with two actions. However, first she had to roll the sanity die because of moving onto the Shiggoth space. She rolled the "add 2 cultists to the space you're in" side of the die.

The question is: does this trigger one Awakening or two Awakenings?



We played it as the latter, that the first cultist triggered the first Awakening (since there were already 3 cultists on the space) and the second cultist triggered a second Awakening for the same reason, which cost us the game as it allowed Cthulhu to emerge.

It was a close thing. We had three gates closed and killing off the cultists and the Shiggoth would have opened the way to closing the fourth and winning the game. The player took a chance and the die roll came up the worse possible side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Morro Bay
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Answered by the designer here: Re: 3 Cultists + Paranoid

It only triggers one awakening.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego

New Kensington
Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the cultists arrive on the space at the same time because that's how it's shown on the die. Losing two sanity as a result of the die roll is losing two sanity at the same time also.

One Old One card is triggered.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Spangler
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! Thanks. In that case, we would have won the game as we were about to close that last gate. Hooray!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.