Support:

Wilson St.James
Canada
Winona
Ontario
flag msg tools
mb
Got the game in a trade. Loved it.
Then it started to require so much bookkeeping that I gave up on it altogether. I started playing the app and didn't get the same feeling one would with something more tangible, like cards (that's why I play board games in the first place).
Went onto my trade list. It's still there, but I am really very seriously reconsidering that because I had a thought about how to redeem the game for my purposes.
I play solo. My daughter tried to play the game with me but again, the bookkeeping drew her away. I could see the boredom in her eyes even though she loves the thematic play.
So as a soloist I needed a minimum of bookeeping and it occurred to me to simply remove all the complex characters. Don't even try to use them because they just frustrate me and turn me off the game as a whole. For now, it seems that removing the complex villains is enough. Complexity in the heroes seems easier to deal with.
So no more Citizen Dawn. No more whomever.
Since I did this purge I have played twice and am loving it again. I don't know if I'll ever take Citizen Dawn out of mothballs or not, but for the time being I can play and enjoy this game again.

If anyone wants to encourage my philosophy then I do have a question; does villain "difficulty" translate to "complexity"? Or are the two mutually exclusive?

Put another way, if anyone wants to identify decks (villain, hero or environment) that require extensive bookkeeping so that I can avoid them, please feel free. I'd appreciate your opinions.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fruit Eating Bear
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb