$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.39

7,509 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Ulm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Victory Points going negative rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith B
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the Cathedral cards hits players with a 5 victory point reduction if they can't fulfill the requirement. If the player gets hit with this, can they go below 0 victory points?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United States
Wisconsin Rapids
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
This is a tricky one because there isn't much consistency in the rulebook for wording of this sort of thing.

In the Chronicle, Those two tiles say "Give up 2 Action tiles" and "Pay a tax of 2 coins". Both of these tiles give the player the option to voluntarily "lose 5 victory points".

Since we start the game with 5 VP, one could argue that Victory Points are a resource just like coins, tiles and sparrows.
In this case, if a player doesn't have 5 VP to lose, then they must pay the other type of good, either tiles or coins.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.