$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 133.86

7,821 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: WINGS: Pay energy before damage? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patty Pilf
Finland
flag msg tools
mb
With Wings, do I have to pay the energy before the die result shows claws, or can I wait to see if I firstly take damage?

Secondly, does it negate Poison Spit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danni Loe-Sterphone
United States
Goleta
California
flag msg tools
publisher
Customer Service, Translator, Webmaster, Reviewer Contact for IELLO USA
badge
Ask me stuff! I'll help you!
mbmbmbmbmb
You can certainly wait and see if you are dealt any damage before paying the energy cost.

Wings won't negate damage done by Poison Spit. Wings only negates damage dealt by dice. Since Poison Spit reduces your health through tokens and not through dice, Wings won't work.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Bolyard
United States
Oak Grove
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AntandBeeandtheABC wrote:
With Wings, do I have to pay the energy before the die result shows claws, or can I wait to see if I firstly take damage?

You can spend the energy at any time to negate damage for the current turn. So yes, you can wait until someone resolves their dice to see if they are going deal you damage before you opt to use Wings.
AntandBeeandtheABC wrote:
Secondly, does it negate Poison Spit?

Initially, if you don't receive damage as a result of the Wings card, then you would neither receive a poison token. However, if you receive a poison token from an attack wherein you either you didn't have Wings or didn't use them, then it hardly makes sense that you can fly away from damage taken thus (technically damage occurring internally).

However, other rulings in the faq address similar situations, such as when you have Armor Plating. Armor plating does negate damage that would otherwise be taken from a single poison token. That makes sense thematically if you received the token after donning the armor. However, again it makes little sense that Armor Plating would negate damage taken from a pre-existing token.

In the end, theme really has little to do with how cards are resolved in this game. It's every bit a game. And the cards are often "gamed." We've determined our own rulings on some things, even if they go contrary to the official FAQ. And the game remains fun and playable. There's little you can do to "break" this game. It's just a dice romp after all.

The FAQ is worth a look over, as your initial question was answered there. It's in the files section of the game's main page under >Community Wiki >Helpful Links. I linked to the English above.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent Debosse
France
La Seyne Sur Mer
flag msg tools
mbmb
About Poison Spit, if you already had one or more tokens on you the turn you use the wings, it would negate all the damage from them since the poison damage still occurs on your turn.
(furthermore it should also negate damage from cards, allowing you to use those self-damaging point boosters safely).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Bolyard
United States
Oak Grove
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tryde wrote:
About Poison Spit, if you already had one or more tokens on you the turn you use the wings, it would negate all the damage from them since the poison damage still occurs on your turn.
(furthermore it should also negate damage from cards, allowing you to use those self-damaging point boosters safely).

This is certainly what the rules would suggest, but it just feels silly...concerning a preexisting poison spit token. The self-inflicting cards make sense enough.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kjetil Svendsen
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
My Secret Santa is the best!
mbmbmbmbmb
daloester wrote:
Wings won't negate damage done by Poison Spit. Wings only negates damage dealt by dice. Since Poison Spit reduces your health through tokens and not through dice, Wings won't work.


It doesn't say anything about only working on damage from dice:

Old: Spend 2 [Energy] to negate damage to you for a turn.

New: Spend 2 [Energy] to not lose any [Heart] this turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danni Loe-Sterphone
United States
Goleta
California
flag msg tools
publisher
Customer Service, Translator, Webmaster, Reviewer Contact for IELLO USA
badge
Ask me stuff! I'll help you!
mbmbmbmbmb
True, the new one is a bit different. However, in the old version, whenever the text mentions "dealing damage" it specifically means when you lose health due to dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kjetil Svendsen
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
My Secret Santa is the best!
mbmbmbmbmb
daloester wrote:
True, the new one is a bit different. However, in the old version, whenever the text mentions "dealing damage" it specifically means when you lose health due to dice.


Yes, but there is also a lot of cards that deal damage without any dice, for example the discard card Fire Blast (Deal 2 damage to all other Monsters) or Burrowing (Deal 1 damage when yielding Tokyo).

However, Wings doesn't specify what kind of damage it protects against, in either version.

1E:

Poison Spit: Monsters take 1 damage for each poison counter they have at the end of their turn.

Wings: Spend 2 [Energy] to negate damage to you for a turn.

2E:

Poison Spit: At the end of the turn, Monsters lose 1 [Heart] for each Poison token they have on them.

Wings: Spend 2 [Energy] to not lose any [Heart] this turn.


Wings is a really powerful card, so I wouldn't mind if there where some limitations in its use, but there's nothing in the cards or rules that says it can't be used against Poison Spit. If that was the intended meaning, you should issue an errata.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.