$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 55.96

4,081 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
25.7% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arboretum» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1 trumping the 8 indirectly? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Burrage
msg tools
Here's the scenario:

Player 1 has played Red trees, and has the Red 8 in his hand.

Player 2 hasn't played Red trees, but has the Red 1 and 4 in his hand.

Player 3 has played Red trees, and has the Red 6 in his hand.

Does Player 3 get to score Red as they have the highest score, even though it was Player 2 who had the Red 1? I wasn't sure if the 1 trumping the 8 only came into play between 2 players who had actually played Red cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Grenier
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that player 3 will score their tree.

The rule is (translated from French)
Quote:
If a player has the 8 in their hand and another player has the 1 of the same color in theirs, the value of the 8 is reduced to 0. The 1 is always worth 1.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brodie
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yup, player 3 will score red.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Burrage
msg tools
Great, thanks guys - that's how I understood the rule but it feels slightly odd another player can indirectly help you without meaning to!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.