$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 80.53

5,400 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
34% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Terrible Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Frequently Asked Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sweet Lemon
msg tools
Before sending Terrible Monster to print, the Sweet Lemon team spent a long time working on the rules and card text, refining and clarifying to make everything as clear as possible.

It all made perfect sense to us!

Of course, after demoing the game hundreds of times during the Essen launch, we noticed a couple of issues that sometimes trick new players.

So here are the frequently asked questions divided by each card. If you're unsure about anything, just leave a comment below and it'll be added to the list!

Terrible Monster


Quote:
When does the Terrible Monster attack?


At the beginning of the controlling player's (next) turn. This means it won't attack immediately - the other player effectively has one turn to react before they receive damage.

Quote:
Do the Ghostly Guardians reduce the damage dealt by the Terrible Monster?


No. The Ghostly Guardians' effect only applies to sources that deal two or less damage. They're completely ineffective against the Terrible Monster.

Quote:
"This card can't be played." What gives?


Unlike other monsters, the Terrible Monster cannot be simply dropped into play. It must be brought into play using Summon, Metamorphosis, or Reanimation.

Cute Beast


Quote:
When does the Cute Beast attack?


At the beginning of the controlling player's (next) turn.

Quote:
Can the controlling player choose whether or not the Cute Beast attacks?


No! The Cute Beast attacks automatically. You'll need to find another way around that Ghostly Guardians problem...

Deduction


Quote:
Can I name a monster in play?


No - that wouldn't be very deductive! You can only name and take cards from the opponent's hand.

Ghostly Guardians


Quote:
Do the Ghostly Guardians reduce the damage dealt by the Terrible Monster?


No. The Ghostly Guardians' effect only applies to sources that deal two or less damage. They're completely ineffective against the Terrible Monster.

Quote:
Can I use the Ghostly Guardians as a reaction to the other player, or must they be played in my turn?


They must be played in your turn.

Summon


Quote:
Do all monsters need to be summoned?


No - just the Terrible Monster. Other monsters can be played directly.

Quote:
So I can't use Summon on other monsters?


You can, but it isn't necessary (although that could be a nice bluff).

Quote:
Does summoning a monster count as one action or two?


It counts as one action.

Investigation


Quote:
Are discards chosen from the entire hand, or only those cards that are drawn?


Discards are chosen from the entire hand.

Metamorphosis


Quote:
Wait, what?


This card confuses a lot of people, but it does exactly as the card says! The Terrible Monster and Cute Beast are swapped, regardless of where they are. If one player controlled the Terrible Monster, they now control the Cute Beast. If one player had the Cute Beast in their hand, they now have the Terrible Monster in hand.

Try not to overthink it! The cards are simply swapped.

Quote:
Does the Cute Beast (or Terrible Monster) have to be in play before Metamorphosis can be used?


No - Metamorphosis can be used at any time. You don't even need to know where either of the cards are (which is why the deck may have to be reshuffled, if it's searched).

Carnivorous Plant


Quote:
Can the Carnivorous Plant remove itself from play?


Yes, if the controlling player decides. It will also remove itself if no other monsters are in play.

Desperation


Quote:
What happens to the Cute Beast if this card is blocked?


Cute Beast is discarded as part of the card's cost (not its effects), which means Cute Beast remains in the discard pile even if the card is blocked.

General


Quote:
What is the turn order for monster actions? Which happens first?


It usually won't be important. However, if it is, monster cards activate in this order:

1 Terrible Monster
2 Carnivorous Plant
3 Temple Guardian
4 Cute Beast

9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.