$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 129.89

7,656 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.2% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Starting gold for new characters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Fristrom
United States
Watertown
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Do new, 1st level characters (such as the very first characters created in the game) start with any gold?

The rules on page 42 would seem to be pretty clear:
Quote:
In addition, a newly created character receives an amount of gold equal to 15x(L+1), where L is their starting level.


So it would seem that a new, 1st level character would start with 30 gold.

However, that sentence is in the middle of a paragraph that talks about starting a character at a higher level, so it is possible that the rule only applies if you are creating a higher level character.

I'm guessing that new 1st level characters do start with 30 gold, but there is just enough ambiguity that I would love to have it confirmed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthieu Bonnaffoux
France
flag msg tools
The first characters your group plays at the beginning of the campaign receive 30 gold worth of equipment (so they have to spend this gold to buy things, they cannot save it for later, if I remember well).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spiros Fousteris
Greece
Moschato
Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a photo in the Images sections,showing some items
that are available for purchase at the beginning of the game.

Looking at the prices(and these are basic items) i believe
that this rule applies to all newly created characters,
regardless of their level.

And if i am reading the rules correctly,there is no treasury
or gold shared among players.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Caciolli
Italy
Padua
flag msg tools
mb
you start with 30 gold and you can save part of them, but you cannot share item or gold with other PC

see this picture https://boardgamegeek.com/image/3214919/gloomhaven?size=orig...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.