Subject: What gets you gaming? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David McMullen
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello! I really got into board gaming as a teenager about six months ago because of how it appeals to my low key personality. I am new to BGG and would love to know why you guys are into gaming. I want to know what gets people interested in all this so that maybe I could get a group of guys and gals (especially those who I don't already know) to come to an event I have planned at my local comic shop. So again, what got you in to board games and why are you still interested?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Smith
msg tools
I've always liked board games, I guess you know from an early age. But it only became my main hobby once I discovered gateway games, like Carcassonne.

Other factors: it's nice to tear ourselves away from tablets, mobiles, etc for a bit, and play around a table with real components! And my other hobby was so frustrating as it depended on the weather. Board and card games are so versatile, and you can even play solo.

Why am I still interested? I just love board games, in the way I love pizza. I just do!

Good luck!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daily Grind
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For me, it was a confluence of several things:
- The increasing strategic complexity, variety and polish of board games in recent years
- The decreasing strategic complexity of my other favorite pastime (video games) along with the rise of online multiplayer gaming, which is not to my taste
- The fact that my spouse doesn't play video games, so now we can enjoy a hobby together
- The loss of dexterity as I get older and/or develop computer related repetitive stress
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iori Yagami
Latvia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb