$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 77.4

5,241 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Blood Rage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Odin's Tide vs Odin's Smite. Which order? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A A
msg tools
In which order resolve this battle?
Plaer A – play Odin's Tide.
Plaer B - play Odin's Smite.

Plaer A have 2 warrior.
Plaer B have 1 warrior.

Odin's Tide - Before comparing STR, each player chooses and destroys all but one of his figures in this battle.

Odin's Smite - Destroy one warrior from each opponent in this province before comparing STR.


1 variant: Odin's Tide > Plaer A lose 1 warrior > Odin's Smite > Plaer A lose 1 warrior = Plaer A have 0 warrior.

or

2 variant: Odin's Smite > Plaer A lose 1 warrior > Odin's Tide > Plaer A already have only 1 figures = Plaer A stays with 1 warrior.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew H
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I believe you start with whoever the active player is at the table and then continue clockwise around.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matheus Affonso
Brazil
Porto Alegre
RS
flag msg tools
mb
Matthew is correct. That is the general rule, which is in the rulebook. There is only one exception to the "resolve battle cards in call to battle order" rule, which is:

1. Thor's Primacy
2. Heimdal's Watch
3. Everything else, starting with the player who called the battle and going clockwise

So, for every battle, you can follow this script:

1. Has someone played Thor's Primacy?
a) Yes — Cancel the text from every other battle card revealed. Any player may still play Heimdal's cards that are playable after reveal (Heimdal's Eye and Heimdal's Gaze). Proceed to 4.b.
b) NoProceed to 2.

2. Has someone played Heimdal's Watch?
a) Yes — Discard every revealed card, be they battle cards or not, and award the player who revealed Heimdal's Watch the sum of every discarded card's STR. Every player then plays a new card, as if the battle had just started. Go back to 1.
b) NoProceed to 3.

3. Have more than 1 player revealed a battle card with text on it?
a) Yes — Starting from the pillaging player and going clockwise, every player resolves the text on the card they revealed if possible. Proceed to 4.b.
b) NoProceed to 4.

4. Has only 1 player revealed a battle card with text on it?
a) Yes — The player who did resolves the text on the card he revealed if possible. Proceed to 4.b.
b) No — Every player adds the STR of their units participating in battle to the STR of the card they revealed and combat resolves. The player with the most combined STR wins. Everyone else loses and must send their participating units to Valhalla. If there's a tie, it counts as a loss for every participating player. Proceed to 5.

5. Has Thor's Primacy been used in battle?
a) Yes — The battle is over. Players may use their clan abilities to keep cards played, save units etc.. The winner discards the cards he played in battle. The losers return the cards they played in battle to their hands.
b) No — Resolve, in clockwise order, starting with the pillaging player, effects from battle cards that apply after the battle is over (Loki's Trickery, Thor's Oath, Thor's Ascension etc.) if possible. The battle is over. Players may use their clan abilities to keep cards played, save units etc.. The winner discards the cards he played in battle. The losers return the cards they played in battle to their hands.

So, in your example, both of your solutions are true. Solution 1 will apply if player A started the pillage, while solution 2 will apply if player B started the pillage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.