$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
24.3% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
So in another thread a spin off topic got going which is heading into a much more interesting discussion than the OP topic (IMO).

Therefore I am starting this thread to discuss the relative values of justice, repentance, redemption and/or absolution overall.

I want to start this with a caveat that in real life, which is messy and deals with complex real humans, it is almost impossible to achieve human Justice in terms of parity of outcome. If for no other reason than even measuring parity of damage is almost impossible. Stealing $100 from a single parent with hungry kids is far more damaging than stealing $5000 from Bill Gates. While the law seeks to establish parity by establishing guidelines and standards like petty theft vs grand larceny, it clearly in many cases won't be able to achieve that lofty goal.

So for this conversation I want to talk about ideals of justice certainly, but not just ideals of perfect justice but also the realities of attempting to mete out justice in an imperfect world.

Here is the set up information that inspired this thread: link to relevant start of spin off drift from previous thread