Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Antonio B-D
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

I have been playing recently A LOT of Baseball Highlights 2045 on my iphone. I have some commute to work and I am new at my work so I normally have lunch on my own. Those are great times for a quick game or two.
Also recently I heard a Ludology podcast analyzing one game (Via Nebula) and considering doing this kind of thorough analysis for the future.
Mix both things in my head and what you get is the idea that BH2045 should get its own thorough analysis on Ludology. But, as I have 0 influence in Ludology I have decided to write the reasons down why I consider this game worthy of a ludological analysis.
But let me start by saying that this is not the greatest game ever. It is not my favorite, and I would be even pressed to consider it my best purchase at Essen (A Feast for Odin is wonderful). So why do I consider it worthy of analysis, and, spoiler alert, a work of art?
Well the reason are multiple.
1. First of all, its inherent simplicity. The game is one of the easiest to teach in my collection. Each turn you play a card, the card can have an immediate effect that takes place immediately, and can have a number of hits that only get into play after your opponent plays a card and taken his immediate effect into consideration. That’s all folks.
2. But where it shines is in its hidden complexity. When you play the game for the first time, you don’t realize how many variables are hidden within the game, and like an onion (or an ogre), each layer slowly appears to the player as a revelation. The last game that gave me that “every time I play I see a new level I have to consider” was Alhambra. Let see some of them.