$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 68.31

4,765 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
30% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sun Tzu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Event Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stena
Italy
flag msg tools
I do not understand the meaning of the following sentence:
"If the last card's condition is ever fulfilled, the game immediately ends"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
XIPULOXX FHTAGN!
mbmbmbmbmb
At the start of the game, you turn the top event card face up. If its condition is fulfilled, it is discarded and the next one comes into play. Then, if that next one's condition is also fulfilled, it too is discarded and so on.

If you get down to the last event card, and its condition is fulfilled, there is no new event card to come into play, and the game ends immediately. Whichever player is in the lead at that point wins.
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stena
Italy
flag msg tools
Perfect; thanks.
Another question about event cards:

War chariot: If a player has marked 3 Provinces with his number 6 card, he may select another Warlord card to play during the game.
If both players have marked 3 Provinces with his number 6 card, both players may select another Warlord card ?

Hero challenge: If a player plays a "10" and does not win the battle, he must set aside 2 armies (either from his reinforcement pool or from the board).
If both players play a "10" and win the battle, what happen ? the card remains or must be discarded ? And if in this case "Hero challenge" is the last event card in play, what happens ? the game ends ?
If both players have won the event will never happen...


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
XIPULOXX FHTAGN!
mbmbmbmbmb
stenava wrote:
Perfect; thanks.
Another question about event cards:

War chariot: If a player has marked 3 Provinces with his number 6 card, he may select another Warlord card to play during the game.
If both players have marked 3 Provinces with his number 6 card, both players may select another Warlord card ?

Normally, as soon as one player has marked 3 provinces, the event card is fulfilled and discarded. But it is possible that when the card is turned face up both players have already fulfilled it. I don't think the rules actually say what happens in that case, but I would say yes, both players can select another Warlord card.

Quote:
Hero challenge: If a player plays a "10" and does not win the battle, he must set aside 2 armies (either from his reinforcement pool or from the board).
If both players play a "10" and win the battle, what happen ? the card remains or must be discarded ? And if in this case "Hero challenge" is the last event card in play, what happens ? the game ends ?
If both players have won the event will never happen...

When the card is turned face up, then as soon as one player plays the 10 and does not win the battle, the card is fulfilled and discarded.

It is possible that both players will play their 10s and it will be a draw, but in that case both of them have fulfilled the card, like in the first example.

If one player plays their 10 and wins the battle, then later the other plays their 10 and wins that battle, the event card will never be resolved. But that just means the game ends after round 9 (or if one player reaches their maximum score in round 3 or 6) as normal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stena
Italy
flag msg tools
- pandemic event card is face-up
- a player plays a "10" and does not win the battle
- all 4 plague cards have been played and card's condition is fulfilled
- now Hero challenge is turned face-up
- because previously a player played a "10" and does not win the battle the Hero challenge is fulfilled or the event must occur with the card in play ?

for example, if when pandemic card is turned face-up and four cards plague have already been used, is pandemic fulfilled ?

Pandemic and War chariot events, you can remember, but the other is more difficult.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
XIPULOXX FHTAGN!
mbmbmbmbmb
stenava wrote:
- pandemic event card is face-up
- a player plays a "10" and does not win the battle
- all 4 plague cards have been played and card's condition is fulfilled
- now Hero challenge is turned face-up
- because previously a player played a "10" and does not win the battle the Hero challenge is fulfilled or the event must occur with the card in play ?

for example, if when pandemic card is turned face-up and four cards plague have already been used, is pandemic fulfilled ?

Pandemic and War chariot events, you can remember, but the other is more difficult.


I don't think the rules are as clear as they might be, but this is how I understand them:

An event card's condition must be fulfilled while it is in play, but in the case of Pandemic and War Chariot, the condition is that something needs to have happened, so it doesn't matter if it happened before the card was turned up or if it happens afterwards. And you don't need to remember anything, you can just check the discard piles to see if all plague cards have been played, or look at the board to see if either player has marked 3 regions.

In the case of Hero Challenge, a 10 must be played (and the player who played it fail to win that battle) after the Hero Challenge card was turned face up. The other two work like Hero Challenge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.