$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 74.49

5,091 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
32.1% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Randy Pemberton
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
I hope I'm reading this rule right. The +1 Previously Detected modifier is retained for every round of successful detection by an escort. Does it accumulate? For example, is the modifier now +3 if I have been detected four rounds is a row? Some have referred to this as the Death Spiral, but I read into the rules that the +1 PD is applied, but not accumulated. Thanks for any help. Excellent game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are reading it correctly.

The +1 applies to every round of this cycle, not just the first.

It does not accumulate, remaining only +1.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fox
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
Fear cannot be banished, but it can be calm and without panic; it can be mitigated by reason and evaluation.
badge
A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals, and you know it.
mbmbmbmbmb
Trust me, +1 every round is enough.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Randy,
Robert said it best....+1 is enough, LOL.

The "Death Spiral" more refers to the accumulation of damage which causes the modifier to increase.

To wit: Let's say it's a +1 drm for having fired Steams in the day. Hey, no big deal, right?
You're detected. Bah, no biggie, we've got a tough hull. Take some damage.
Next round, the drm is +2 (steams in the day, previous detect). Detected again....let's just say you take a fuel tank hit, unluckily. THAT also gives a +1.
So now, 3rd round of detection, it's at +3. If your dive planes get hit.....well now, it's +4 total to detection.

THAT is the "Death Spiral" more or less.

I hope that makes sense,
Greg

PS Don't forget, no matter how bad it gets, a natural "snake eyes" (2) results in a non-detection.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Pemberton
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
Thank you, sir! Appreciate the responses and clarification. Love this game and look forward to more in the future. I'm a former submariner myself and this game (more like simulation) makes you feel the boat again. Well done!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Randy,
Thanks for the kind words. Praise from a former submariner....I guess I can't ask for much more that that

There's some other guys here who also served in the Silent Service and most of them seem to have liked the game as well, so I am very pleased about that - it means we pretty much hit the mark with the game.

Unlike most Mk14s. Hehehe.

Take care,
Greg
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.