BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Storing multiple games in one box rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Boris Popov
Bulgaria
flag msg tools
mb
Hi everyone, I am relatively new to the hobby but my gaming collection has been growing at an alarming rate.

Lately I find myself constrained mostly by the limits of my storage space and I am often annoyed by the fact that many of the game boxes are overly large for the components they hold.

Recently I have been compressing my game collection by storing multiple games in one box.

I know that many of us store expansions in the box of the original game, whenever possible, i.e. Turn und Taxis and both expansions, Catan and multiple expansions, Carcassonne and expansions... etc. But I find myself increasingly willing to store two separate games from the same designer in a single box, like The Gardens of the Alhambra and Granada, or Kontor and Mondo Sapiens.

Lately, I have even started mixing games that come from different designers but share a theme, like storing Skyline into the box of Manhattan, especially if one of the games is, in my opinion, not good enough to qualify for its own storage space.

In my quiet desperation I have even turned to storing as many as three games from three different designers in a single box, as long as they share a theme. My latest blasphemy was shoving Basari and Marrakech into the box of Sultaniya.

Surely there are other people who have come to similar solutions of the storage problem - if any of you read this thread, I would like to hear your thought and ideas about combining games.

If you disagree with me, I would like to hear your opinion too.

The original boxes are still kept in the basement, smaller boxes being stored in bigger ones, to conserve space, whenever possible, But at some point, I will probably have to let them go.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Peckham
England
Dorking
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb