$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 106.6

6,644 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Festung Europa: The Campaign for Western Europe, 1943-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: Avalanche rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Noah Roy
msg tools
Can the Allies play Avalanche in Spring 1944 if the Axis still controls Messina, and the Allies played Overlord earlier in the same turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
noahroy wrote:
Can the Allies play Avalanche in Spring 1944 if the Axis still controls Messina, and the Allies played Overlord earlier in the same turn?


You may, per the card.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah Roy
msg tools
So the exception in rule 6.56 is not the only exception? How about Shingle -- can that be played as a second (or 3rd, with Avalanche) invasion event in a turn (the card says "any action round")?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
It would be legal, in theory. Though what you are describing is a major outlier resulting from player decisions and possible card draws. And there would have to be two Allied corps in the North Africa Reserve Box to play the Shingle invasion.

Never saw it, or anything close to it, in all the games I played or were playtested.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe in literal interpretations of the cards, which are an extension of the rules. If the card says "any" then that means "any". The exception would be if reading the cards that way would clearly unbalance the game.

This situation would only occur in a highly unusual set of circumstances.

The Allied player would have to open the game with Roundup in 1943. Then, in 1944 they play Overlord.

It seems a questionable strategy to play Avalanche this turn as the Allied player will have conducted two Action Rounds in a single turn, on opposite sides of the map, and done nothing in the way of attacking the Axis. Moving and attacking each turn is vital for the Allies.

I am inclined to allow the literal wording of the card to stand.

What are the chances of (1) the Allied player opting for Roundup and then (2) drawing all three invasion cards in a 1944 hand (and having the two corps in the North Africa Reserve Box needed to play Shingle)?

It would have to be (3) during the early part of the year or the Allies are likely risking an Axis automatic victory. Not to mention (4) what were the Roundup forces doing all this time? If the Allies play Roundup they are presumably going for the "knockout blow" and overrun France and Germany before the Axis player can get those 1944 reinforcements into play. Devoting time to Italy is just doing the Axis player a favor.

Or (5) that the Allied player in playing three invasions in one turn would be spending half a turn inflicting no attrition at all on the Axis. Or (6) that Allied OPS are now going to be divided and yet trying to play territorial "catch up" on opposite sides of the map.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.