$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 102.9

6,475 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
40.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Grand Austria Hotel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Potential Stupid Questions - Emperor Penalties rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Arnott
United States
Tarzana
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If the penalty is lose 3 staff cards or 7 points and you only have 2 staff cards in hand...

1. Can you ditch those 2 plus one you've played? Or do they all have to be from your hand?

2. Can you just ditch your hand and be done, or since you don't have 3 in hand, are you required instead to lose the 7 points?

Thanks.


-Dave
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
1. I'm positive they all have to be from your hand.

2. I am pretty sure you have to lose 7 points instead, but not 100%.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe Dan is correct on both counts. If you can't fulfill the penalty, you lose the points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Arnott wrote:
If the penalty is lose 3 staff cards or 7 points and you only have 2 staff cards in hand...

1. Can you ditch those 2 plus one you've played? Or do they all have to be from your hand?

Quote:
Penalty: You must either return 3 Staff cards
from your hand to the bottom of the Staff
card pile or lose 7 Victory Points.



2. Can you just ditch your hand and be done, or since you don't have 3 in hand, are you required instead to lose the 7 points?

Quote:
The penalty part usually shows 2 options. If one of
them is not possible, you must choose the other.


Thanks.


-Dave


Rules quotes in line. Emphasis mine.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Arnott
United States
Tarzana
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, everybody.

we played it correctly, but then a few hours later, a different table playing this game asked me the exact same question For some reason this fairly logical rule just wasn't sticking in our brains.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.