$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 50.9

3,786 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23.9% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of revealing Badger Frenzy in Arena rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello to all,

I was looking at the card "Badger Frenzy", from Mage Wars Academy, and was wondering about the timing for revealing this enchantment. Part of the card reads:

Quote:
The next time this creature makes a quick melee attack, that attack gains the Doublestrike trait.


Is it legal to reveal this card right after step 4 of the Attack Action sequence (Avoid Attack) or even after step 6 (Damage and Effects)?

Thank you for your time and help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konrad T
Poland
Szczecin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is legal. Attack You're using may get additional traits such as Doublestrike between steps and You will get to use this trait if it's present during additional strikes step..
The issue is when is the attack considered not made yet.
In Rules Supplement it's written:
Quote:
Note: If a melee attack is canceled after the Declare Attack Step, the defending creature still loses its Guard
marker, if any. Once the Declare Attack Step is completed, the melee attack is in progress, and the mere attempt
to make the attack (approaching and engaging the enemy) will distract the defender sufficiently to remove the
guard marker. If the attack is canceled before the completion of the Declare Attack Step, then no “commitment”
was made, and no guard marker is removed.

This means that once the attack gets past Declare attack step it's considered to be made and it won't benefit from Badger Frenzy if the enchantment is revealed after that step.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Teroux
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification, Konrad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.