$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 74.16

5,074 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
32% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Tramways» Forums » Rules

Subject: Parcels rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michele Bricchi
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Nice experience at our First 5p game yesterday.
We came up with the feeling we had not fully grabbed parcels rules: one of our player had a parcel, he constructed as per rules a link pointing to his parcel and successively upgraded it.
Later in the game he put a rail through that parcel extending the formerly upgraded link.
So he had a bigger link crossing his parcel only partially upgraded. Did we play correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cruz
Portugal
Arcozelo - Vila Nova de Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lariel wrote:

Later in the game he put a rail through that parcel extending the formerly upgraded link.
So he had a bigger link crossing his parcel only partially upgraded. Did we play correctly?


No, you have to build into a parcel or through a parcel. If you build through, it count as one link though.
What he must had done was building from another exit of that parcel, giving him 2 links, one upgraded (the previous one) and one normal (the new one).

Hope that helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Bricchi
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks. So you mean that if a player uses his parcel "as a building" I.e., using it as an endpoint of a link, then later he cannot build rails through it anymore?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cruz
Portugal
Arcozelo - Vila Nova de Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lariel wrote:
Thanks. So you mean that if a player uses his parcel "as a building" I.e., using it as an endpoint of a link, then later he cannot build rails through it anymore?


No and yes. No because it's a complete link and you can't expand completed links (if he continues the line). Yes, because he can build through it, on the opposite direction (the overlay possibility of building rails).

See the example at the end of pag. 9.
However, if brown (in that example) builds a building on that F2 parcels, he would have two separated links (and if he previous upgraded the rails, both became upgraded).
And brown could start a link to the west from that F2 parcel if he wants.

Quite difficult to explain, but if any doubt persist, shoot it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Russo
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
True, easier to do than to explain it.

If a square is still a gray parcel, you and only you can:
Connect to it
Build through it
Build a building into it (and taking off a track built through it)

If a previous gray parcel square is now a building, you and only you can:
Upgrade the building
Others can do:
Connect to it


Basicly, having a gray parcel let you ONLY build into it and to it, and keep it reserved for you.

Trasforming a gray parcel to a building, let others connect to it, but you get a $1 building bonus, and a passenger, and nice destination for passengers, and you only can upgrade the building (3$ bonus and a new passenger).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Bricchi
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Amazing. That example you quoted fits exactly: a yesno answer is a bit confusing.
can brown law a rail on his c2 parcel? In the rules I have its c2 not f2.
In case he can what activating icons does he need?
And where have you read the rule about the upgrade?


Additionally, just to complicate things, are there invalid links, right? No ther colours can point at a different coloured parcel.... So orange couldn't build the A line and pink too.... Am I right? The game flows so good. Only these parcels issues are quite disturbing. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cruz
Portugal
Arcozelo - Vila Nova de Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was refering to the last example (the one with orange and brown lines only).

On the first example brown can't build rails on C2 since you can't build into or through neutral parcels. On the last, brown can build from the parcel to the mountain on the west.

When you upgrade a link, you can only do that to an complete link.

On the last example (brown and orange tracks only), brown can upgrade that link since it's only one link. If he latter builds a building, that rail becames two separated rails.

That first example have a few errors:
- the brown and pink lines can't had been build to that orange parcel;
- and the orange upgraded link can't be there either.

But Paolo put it down in a nicely summary about what you can do with parcels.

Hope that helps.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Bricchi
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Dugy wrote:
I was refering to the last example (the one with orange and brown lines only).


On the last example (brown and orange tracks only), brown can upgrade that link since it's only one link. If he latter builds a building, that rail becames two separated rails



Referring to this example orange can't build a rail in f3 because he would extend an already existing link. Ok now I think I got it. The point is that as soon as a parcel is linked you cannot put rail through it. This solves all my doubts.
thanks guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yani
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great post, made it more precise for consistency.

Serpentium wrote:
True, easier to do than to explain it.

If a square is still a gray parcel that you own, you and only you can:
Connect to it
Build through it
Build a building into it (and taking off a track built through it)
Deliver a passenger to it
Others can:
Deliver a passenger through it
Build track adjacent to it (but not connecting it)


If a previous gray parcel square is now a building that you own, you and only you can:
Upgrade the building
Others can do:
Connect to it
Grab its passenger
Deliver any passenger to it
Build the same building adjacent to it and merge them




Basicly, having a gray parcel let you ONLY build into it and to it, and keep it reserved for you.

Trasforming a gray parcel to a building, let others connect to it, but you get a $1 building bonus, and a passenger, and nice destination for passengers, and you only can upgrade the building (3$ bonus and a new passenger).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Russo
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yani, just to edit it for the better:

if you own the gray parcel, others cannot deliver a passenger to it, only through it (not stopping there and using your 2 links)

Others can:
Deliver a passenger to it or through it

Others can:
Grab its passenger (using your link)
Deliver a passenger through it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yani
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Serpentium wrote:
Yani, just to edit it for the better:

if you own the gray parcel, others cannot deliver a passenger to it, only through it (not stopping there and using your 2 links)

Others can:
Deliver a passenger to it or through it

Others can:
Grab its passenger (using your link)
Deliver a passenger through it


Obviously, since you do not have the destination parcel card. Thanks, fixed it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.