$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.63

7,770 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Items and Remembrall rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Younie
msg tools
So far I've only played Game 1. In most deck builder games, items (or similar) often stays in play from turn to turn. But the rules here say ALL cards are discarded at the end of your turn.

But the Remembrall has a different benefit if you discard it. But you ALA
WAYS discard it, so it sounds like you always get 2 tokens when you play this item.

I assume there's something I'm missing here. Can anyone she'd some light?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are cards in Hogwarts that give you benefits when you are forced to discard them (e.g., to a Villain effect). The Remembrall is one of those cards.

These cards also combo with "draw then discard" abilities. E.g., if you play a card that allows you to draw 2 and discard 1, a discarded Remembrall will trigger its 'discard' effect.

In summary, you can play the item normally and get its benefit, or if you're forced to discard it you will also get a benefit. You don't get both benefits just by playing the card, though, and Remembrall never stays in play.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Younie
msg tools
Awesome! That clears it up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hogwarts Battle is a deckbuilder like (the original) Dominion or Thunderstone. You discard your hand at the end of every turn. Your cards don't usually stay in play. (OK, Dominion later added cards that did, but in the original they didn't.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
elcoderdude wrote:
Hogwarts Battle is a deckbuilder like (the original) Dominion or Thunderstone. You discard your hand at the end of every turn. Your cards don't usually stay in play.


Many deckbuilders don't have cards that stay in play, as you say, but there are a few that do:

All Cryptozoic games: DC Comics, Lord of the Rings, etc. (Locations)
DC Teen Titans (any card with the Ongoing ability)
Legendary: Guardians of the Galaxy (Artifacts)
Legendary: Villains - Fear Itself expansion (Thrown Artifacts; when used go to the bottom of your deck)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Frey
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Can you choose to discard a card instead of playing it? Or, does the discard effect only happen when forced to discard?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Marvelguy wrote:
Can you choose to discard a card instead of playing it? Or, does the discard effect only happen when forced to discard?


This is sort-of addressed in this post.

There is a difference between playing a card, being forced to discard a card, and placing your unplayed cards in the discard pile at the end of your turn (which might also be called "discarding").

The general consensus is that discard effects only trigger when you're forced to discard the card (or choose to discard it as a result of another card effect). "Discarding" unplayed cards at the end of your turn doesn't trigger a discard effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.