$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 102.57

6,460 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
40.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Foe Hunters» Forums » Rules

Subject: Source of damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chad Walton
United States
Springfield
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this for the first time last night and had a couple questions. As we played with the Necromancer most revolved around the Rotting Hulk and its rule that whenever an ally is damaged it deals damage to the source of that damage.

With abilities and equipment what is the source of the damage? For example Keraxis has the cards Fathombringer (an equipment that deals damage) and Barrage (an ability that deals damage). Are the sources of the damage Keraxis (thus allowing the Rotting Hulk to damage him) or the cards themselves (thus allowing no damage from the Rotting Hulk)? A similar thing came up with the City card Dark Concentration which causes the Necromancer to do two damage to himself. Would this set off the Rotting Hulk to hit him again since the damage would be redirected to an ally?

The other question was with the Paladin and the cards Vindicator and Blessed Recuperation. Vindicator allows the Paladin to do one damage to each enemy target while Blessed Recuperation allows the Paladin to heal one whenever he does damage. If there are six targets would the Paladin heal one or six? We ruled one, as he would have been impossible (more impossible) to hurt otherwise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Lembcke
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mb
Thanks for the questions Chad, I will add them to the FAQ

When damage is caused by an ability/persistent ability/equipment the foe controls, what is the source of that damage?
Damage dealt from an ability/persistent ability/equipment the foe controls usually has the foe as the source. There are a couple of exceptions, and it depends on the wording of the card. As a general rule, if the foe ability/equipment/persistent ability says “deal 2 fire damage to each hero”, or “deal 4 melee damage to the hero with the highest HP”, the source of the damage is the foe. If the card specifically references this card (or a specific card) such as: “this card deals 2 fire damage to each hero”, the named card is considered the source of the damage.

There aren’t many instances of this in the base game, but the syntax was used to accommodate some future content without requiring much in the way of an errata. An example would be: there is a named vassal in play, and another card the foe controls that gives that vassal an additional ability (E.X. At the beginning of the foe phase, XX card deals 2 spirit damage to each hero.)

[Necromancer] When you have the Rotting Hulk in play, and you redirect damage with the card Dark Concentration, what happens?
This was the one interaction that slipped through the editing net. Originally Dark Concentration was a loss of life, but it was changed late in development to damage in order to make it more relevant for other heroes (so it can be absorbed with armor or redirected to allies.) The final revision of Rotting Hulk failed to make it to the printer.

The wording on Rotting Hulk should read:

“Whenever an ally you control takes damage from an enemy target, Rotting Hulk deals 1 melee damage to the source of that damage.”

[Necromancer] Rotting Hulk Errata
See above item for an example.

The wording on Rotting Hulk should read:

“Whenever an ally you control takes damage from an enemy target, Rotting Hulk deals 1 melee damage to the source of that damage.”

[Paladin] How does the healing work with Vindicator and Blessed Recuperation?
When you use Vindicator to deal 1 damage to each enemy target while you have Blessed Recuperation in play, the game will see you dealing damage once (Pg. 9 of the rules go into more detail with an example), and then trigger once.

Damage is assigned by instance, and in this case the damage event is triggered from the activation of Vindicator resulting in one “instance” of damage (E.X. Vindicator was activated once and as a result dealt one instance of X damage.) Since the damage resolves simultaneously, the game would see you dealing the damage once.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.