$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.53

4,615 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.1% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Captains of the Golden Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Getting cards back? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leo Lajs
msg tools
Playing the Novice game:

Play A)

I sail 2 spaces use 2 sail cards and move another two.

Then I have not combat (I get that)

I dont visit a habour, so no loading goods (I get that)

I end my move at sea tile and ears a card or cards?

Question:
A) I get to choose two new cars as I used two sails?
B) I only get one card back?

Play b)

100% as above, I use two sails to reach the Orient with a Captain who does NOT need to rest.

Question:
A) I get to choose two new cars as I used two sails?
B) I do NOT get any cards back?
C) I get to choose 7 new cards

Play c)

I use two sails to reach the Orient with a Captain who DOES NEED to rest.

Question:
A) I get to choose two new cars as I used two sails?
B) I DO NOT Get any cards back.
B) I get to choose 7 news cards


Play D)
Combat and steal cargo.

I got 4 cannons and my victim has only 1. I will with 3 plus cannons

My victim has 5 cargo spaces and only a pepper in cargo 1 all the way to the left.

Question: CAN I choose to damage the one with just the pepper in cargohold all the way to the left and take the cargo out of the water?


NOTE:

We played the game and read the rules, but we could not agree what it means in the rule book for these 4 plays.
If any can help with the answer that would be amazing, but for tranparency please use one reply per answer per play in question, to keep follup question separated.

Kind Regards
Leo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
antoinette van houten
msg tools
Hi Leo,

For A.) I'd say you:
i.) get your two card sails back (see p. 14 of the Manual)
ii.) get/earn one card of choice, because you ended on a sea tile in the sail phase (see p. 8)

Therefore you get three cards in total.

Best regards,

A
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
antoinette van houten
msg tools
Hi again

For B.) I'd say you:
i.) get your two card sails back (see p. 14 of the Manual)
ii.) do not get/earn any card of choice, because you do not fulfill the earning criteria (see p. 8)

Therefore you get two cards in total.

Kind regards,

A
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
antoinette van houten
msg tools
Hi 'driemaal is scheepsrecht' ,

For C.) it looks like:
i.) get your two card sails back (see p. 14 of the Manual)
ii.) get/earn one card of choice, if you make your captain rest (see p. 8)
but I don't think it is mandatory, although advisable in this scenario C.

Therefore you get three cards in total.

A
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo Lajs-Rasmussen
msg tools
antoinette1969 wrote:
Hi Leo,

For A.) I'd say you:
i.) get your two card sails back (see p. 14 of the Manual)
ii.) get/earn one card of choice, because you ended on a sea tile in the sail phase (see p. 8)

Therefore you get three cards in total.

Best regards,

A

We had another game tonight and we still disagree... no where in manual does it say how many cards your earn landing on sea tile? nore if you used cards or not. it not clearly explained.

We played you only get one card back from landing on a sea tile even if you spend 5 sail cards to get there. else you play 5 and get 5 back, that seems like killing the game of strategy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
antoinette van houten
msg tools
Hi Leo,

Indeed, I misread p.14 of the online English manual.

The sail cards you spend are not returned to your hand, but to your deck.

Therefore in scenario A, you get/earn only one card.

Kr,

A
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.