$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 121.97

7,321 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
46.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Crimson Creek» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of Locations Attacked in 3rd Klein Attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
During the 3rd Klein attack, do you just continue to turn cards over until all the Locations are attacked except the Lair? The rulebook says that all the remaining non-Lair locations are attacked, but it doesn't say what order to do them in. So we were just turning over the Lair card and announcing that all the other locations were attacked simultaneously.

However, we were in a situation yesterday where all of the players died because of the 3rd Klein attack in the 2nd Act. But one of the players knew who Klein was, so she wanted to know if she was the last remaining player at any point during the 3rd attack and if she could then announce she was Klein and win.

So, does the order of the final location attacks matter? If they happen one by one, do we stop after the second to last person in killed so that the last player can have a chance to announce? Or do we have to finish all the attacks and then see if anyone survives those and then they can announce if they are the last surviving player?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rod Bauer
United States
Larned
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules seem pretty clear that you must survive the night and then identify who Klein is in order to win the game. In your game, all players are eliminated at end of Act 2, so nobody wins the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Davy,

It sounds like you're trying to invoke the "Sole Survivor" rule found on page 25, and are seeking clarification on its timing.

I have to agree with Rod... in that you must be the sole remaining player in order to invoke the rule. The simple definition of "remaining" strongly implies that the Attack must be fully resolved before testing for sole remaining player status.

IOW... if no one remains (or survives) after the attack is resolved, then all lose.

Would be interested in Greg's official answer, and this also sounds like a good candidate for the FAQ!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Toystorian
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All the remaining locations are attacked simultaneously. So you would have to survive the attack to be the sole remaining player to name the killer and win.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The funny thing was that only player who knew who Klein was in this game was Klein. So she was thinking that as the remaining non-Lair locations were all being attacked, if everyone else was killed, even if there were still some locations left to resolve, wouldn't Klein stop at that point and not fake his own death?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But, as you said, they are "simultaneous", so maybe Klein set a bomb to blow up the remaining non-Lair locations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.