$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.07

7,747 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: [Spoilers] Game End Upgrades and Colonies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan Beach
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you apply game end upgrades to your colonies? As can I upgrade the field or garrison on one of my colonies? Same thing if a captains booke entry allows me to upgrade a field, can it be done on a colony and not my home territory?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say no, for two reasons:

1. If you upgrade a colony field, it jumps up by a value of $4, whereas your province fields only go up by $2. That makes me think they were not intended to be upgraded this way.

2.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
There is a reason in the next box you might not want to do it anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Beach
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok perfect, that is what I figured but wanted to check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
In service to the Imperium of Man
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the opposite. The game-end upgrades use language that doesn't restrict them to just being applied to provinces.

Quote:
The player that won THIS GAME gets to take the Improvement Sheet
and choose one reward on it.
Improve Field
Choose a field on any region you control and replace it
with the next higher numbered gold value available by
placing its sticker over the current field.
Improve Garrison
Choose a garrison on any region you control and replace it
with the next higher number available by placing its sticker
over the current garrison.

If the stickers were intended to just go on a player's home province, why use that language?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julius Besser
United States
Memphis
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you are allowed to and suspect that Trey's point number one was meant as a trap to lure you in to point number two...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Shampoo4you wrote:
1. If you upgrade a colony field, it jumps up by a value of $4, whereas your province fields only go up by $2. That makes me think they were not intended to be upgraded this way.


That's not much of an argument. Your province fields can also be upgraded by $4 if the stickers run out.

I would say the rule clearly permits it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Shampoo4you wrote:
1. If you upgrade a colony field, it jumps up by a value of $4, whereas your province fields only go up by $2. That makes me think they were not intended to be upgraded this way.


That's not much of an argument. Your province fields can also be upgraded by $4 if the stickers run out.

I would say the rule clearly permits it.


Well by all means, upgrade it then. devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The "any field you control" makes it pretty clear that you can upgrade fields on colonies. Whether or not that's a good idea is completely separate from that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Liddle
United States
Sandpoint
Idaho
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems balanced to me: Sure, you can use a single upgrade to increase income by $4, but keep in mind that you do not collect colony income the first Winter, and you have to pay $6 to activate it.

You only come out ahead by $2 (vs upgrading your province field by $2) if you make it to a third winter, which hasn't happened often in our group. And you tend to need more cash earlier in the game...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, now that it's been stated that colony fields don't harvest in the first winter, upgrading your colony fields looks very unattractive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.