$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 118.13

7,155 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – The Black Riders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Conflict of answers... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Simpson
United States
Elkridge
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, reading through this forum... there seems to be a disagreement on hide checks.

Playing the game tonight, Piercing Cry is drawn. It tells me to search the encounter deck and discard pile for a Nagzul enemy. Either add it to the staging area, or put it into play engaged with the first player. Shuffle the encounter deck.

Do I make a hide check with the Black Rider? It does not say "when revealed" on the card... so I would assume that I do make the hide check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic B
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When looking at the rules and following them strictly, I would say you don't have to make a Hide check.

Black Riders Rulebook p. 7 wrote:

Hide X is a new keyword in this scenario. When an
encounter card with the Hide X keyword is revealed
, the
player who revealed the card must make a Hide test. If
the encounter card with the Hide X keyword also has a
“When Revealed” or “Forced” effect, the Hide test must be
resolved before resolving the rest of the card.


FAQ wrote:
(1.22) “When Revealed” Effects

A card is only considered to be revealed if the card or
game effect causing the card to enter play specifically
uses a form of the word “reveal”.


Example: If the players use the Stage 3b “Don’t Leave
the Path!” (CORE 121) quest card effect to search
for a King Spider and put it into play, the “When
Revealed” effect on the King Spider will not trigger,
since the effect on “Don’t Leave the Path!” does not
specifically use a form of the word “reveal.”


Piercing Cry does not use any form of the word reveal in its text. Therefore it seems that the Hide efect does not trigger.
I know in this game it often feels unlikely that there happens something to the advantage of the player , but this is at least how I read the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Simpson
United States
Elkridge
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome answer!! Thanks!!

I still lost though. Fun!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.