$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 128.15

7,583 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Brian
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rulebook, it states that when the last monster is defeated, the encounter ends. You immediately do a cleanup step, and then it describes steps 2-5 of the "end of round" instructions. However the very next line says:

"After all Encounter Cleanup is finished, proceed to Encounter Setup for the next encounter!" (pg 13)

A plain text reading seems to indicate you skip step 6 of End of Round directions and go set up the next encounter, and defending player doesn't pass. In fact, Encounter Setup happens after picking start player, so as written it seems that you don't even get to pick a new start player for the new encounter.

However, common board game wisdom implies that the defending player should pass to the next player under the assumption that the end of an encounter is also the end of a round, but it's not explicitly stated.

Does the defending player pass? Or does the player who finished the previous encounter begin the next?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan D
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mb
The defending player passes. However, you're right that the rulebook does not state that the round marker should be passed at the end of an encounter or when moving on to the next encounter.

The how-to-play video should cover the scenario. In the meantime, seek to about 19:15 in the outdated but still useful gameplay video from the Kickstarter campaign:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/slugfestgames/the-red-d...

The new encounter setup was completed, then the round marker was passed to the next player to start the new encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. That's how I've been playing it but I wanted to be sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Thomason
New Zealand
Nelson
None
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Personally I'd rather wait and get an official answer to this. The turn sequence is a major factor during the encounter but not so much after the encounter as everyone refills their hand. It is possible that could be a factor and the active player isn't passed on as everyone has cards unlike during the encounter and it doesn't really matter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan D
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mb
In the official play-through video, the round marker is passed at the end of the encounter. At 20:10 in the video:
https://youtu.be/ylMH8kMPLb4?t=20m10s
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.