$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 70.92

4,904 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
30.9% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: [Spoilers: Colonies and Advisor] Rules question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Araneya Olausson
Sweden
Lund
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
We were wondering about The Surveyor. 1. Can it replace the 4-good requirement for colonies? 2. Does the Build -X work on the gold you use?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Neville
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools
mb
Can you put the text from the advisor so those of us without convenient access to the game can weigh in? (I'm at work at the moment)

As for the second question, what gold?
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Building a colony requires 6 resource cubes, 4 of which have to be one of each type. A gold discount on something that costs 0 gold still causes it to cost 0 gold as cost cannot be reduced below 0 gold.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The text on the card is:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
"You may substitute 8 gold for a good when building a colony. You may use this ability to substitute for multiple goods."


As for the questions:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
1. I'm not sure what you mean by "4 good requirement". Do you mean the requirement to have 1 good of each type? The 8 gold is not restricted, so it can substitute for any type of good. If you spend more than 8 gold, each unit of 8 gold can substitute for a different type.

2. No. It's a completely different thing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Random
msg tools
DaviddesJ wrote:
The text on the card is:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
"You may substitute 8 gold for a good when building a colony. You may use this ability to substitute for multiple goods."


As for the questions:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
1. I'm not sure what you mean by "4 good requirement". Do you mean the requirement to have 1 good of each type? The 8 gold is not restricted, so it can substitute for any type of good. If you spend more than 8 gold, each unit of 8 gold can substitute for a different type.

2. No. It's a completely different thing.

Spoiler (click to reveal)

It hasn't come up yet, but are you sure about number 2? Building a colony is a Build Action and that discount works on BUILD ACTIONS. It hasn't become relevant yet, but we ruled that it did indeed discount colony builds.


Maybe Rob has put in words about this before?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It just seems clear to me. It's a discount on the cost of a build, but this isn't a cost, it's substituting one thing for another.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Araneya Olausson
Sweden
Lund
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers, seems like a reasonable interpretation!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.