$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 117.58

7,131 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
44.9% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do wires affect the owner's armies? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J C
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Played the game for the first time the other day, and we tried the first scenario, when we hit a rules impasse: the German player moved out into his own wires and argued that the wires shouldn't negatively affect him. Is this true? It kind of makes sense since the wires are of specific colors (otherwise, why not make them neutral?), but the rules don't seem to address this specifically.

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Earl
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They definitely affect both players.

There are no neutral colored pieces in the base game, so it's probably just for ease of manufacturing and aesthetic purposes.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup. Obstacles are neutral.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clexton27
United States
Forest
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
An Infantry unit firing out of a hex with a wire obstacle reduces its attack dice by 1. This affects both sides.

Base Rulebook P16
Quote:
Wire
◆ Movement: A unit that enters a hex with Wire must stop and may move no further on that turn.
◆ Battle: An Infantry unit that is on a hex with Wire, will reduce the number of Battle dice it rolls by 1. An Infantry unit that is eligible to battle may remove the Wire instead of battling. Armor must remove the Wire and may still battle.
◆ Line of Sight: Wire does not block line of sight.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil 77
United States
Port Orchard
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmb
We had the same question. We thought the rulebook didn't make it clear so we made the decision to have the wires only affect the enemy units. Not sure what the game creators intent was, but that's how we play it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Emmett
Canada
Surrey
BC
flag msg tools
Win it or bin it
badge
Win it or bin it
mbmbmbmbmb
neil77 wrote:
We had the same question. We thought the rulebook didn't make it clear so we made the decision to have the wires only affect the enemy units. Not sure what the game creators intent was, but that's how we play it.

The intent is wire affects all units. Compare wire to minefields, which specifically describe different rules for friendly and enemy units.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Minot
North Dakota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wires and tank obstacles affect both side indiscriminately. As you progress through the game, you will find scenarios where all the defensive obstacles for both sides are laid out for one defensive position.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.