3,644 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Paul Liolio
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hey guys,

I ordered some 'Scooby Doo' style miniatures, along with some others, from the website Hasslefree Miniatures.. The shipment was delayed, but they threw in a few free minis for the wait!

Anyway I'm still new to painting, and I'm only partway into my first project of painting my minis from Last Night on Earth, which are your typical plastic board game minis..

These miniatures from hasslefree are metal, for one, but also, they come detached from a base.

What is the best way to prepare these miniatures for painting?

As they are metal, is it still okay to wash them in warm soapy water?
Also, I assume my Duplicolor Sandable White Primer will be alright as well?

But maybe I should attach them to their bases first.... and... How does one do that? Just super glue them into place, or is there more to it?

I also ordered this guys ( http://www.hfminis.co.uk/img_cms/product_images/HFGGL2%20Alp... ) and he doesn't come with a base (he's rather large, and the little piece of metal between his legs doesn't seem sufficient to keep him standing) Should I check out a local game store to find an appropriate thing? He's also a little crooked, I think.. Is it possible to bend his little minibase into a better position with pliers?

Any other tips would be helpful.

Really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brant Benoit
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct on all counts, and have the basic gist of what you need to do already. Your primer is perfect for metal, and the only things you are missing for prep are some small files. These will be used for removing the mold lines on metal models.

All you have to do is glue the integrated base the model has in the picture there to a base. They are easy to find and plentiful at any LGS that sells miniatures.