8 Posts

Scythe» Forums » General

Subject: Comments about first solo plays ( no euro gamer here ) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lyle Chipperson
msg tools
mbmb
So I finally got the time to sit down and read the rules ,and try the solo mod of this game with the autometta level .

First of all some background, I'm kinda new to the hobby , played games like arkham horror, elder sign , kingdom death , I think those can be called ameritrash. So this game was my first experience with another genre ( ok I played Agricola on the iPad a couple of times)

The components are really well done , art is beautiful, the minis se cool , but coming from kingdom death I'm " used" to good minis so the impact in me wasn't that great.

I only have two plays ( and gettin better ) but I really enjoyed the game ,
At the beginning i felt that it was too confusing but then all falls into place, I felt the gameplay just flows , hmm how do I put it , the game seems like a simple game but when I keep playing I can see more and more layers of depth unfolding, again, maybe it's my limited experience with this kind of games.

as I mentioned I played the solo mode against the AI, our dear Automa, and coming from kingdom death I'm used to deal with like 2 or 3 stacks of cards , so when I saw it was just 19 cards ( silly me ) I thought there might be the problem of the AI being a bit poor, easy , or predictable...

man I was wrong ! The AI is a piece of art , at first glance it was confusing ,but once I got the rules , it's so good quick and clean, how it is " programmed " it's remarkable, obviously it would had been great if the AI could also at least make structures , and play with the popularity ,but I see why they had to make some sacrifices to have such a clean "robot "